Back to Top

 

Reviews

 


 

 

Trip Adviser 2017 Logo

 
 
 

have

 

The following are all the feedback reviews, good and bad, we have received during the last year:

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

14-08-17 Park kept clean and tidy, stunningly beautiful coastal views and a fantastic quite beach all within a 5 min walk.


14-08-17 Great campsite and considerate for families personal space.


13-08-17 Very impressed by the cleanliness of the toilet facilities. Showers were lovely and hot and powerful but the cubicles themselves were not pleasant, damp and dripping with condensation due to the lack of ventilation. The new indoor washing up area with freezer for ice packs was very welcome, it would be good to see this area extended to include washing machines. As we were staying for over 2 weeks I would have found this beneficial. Water taps in each field would be helpful. I like the fact that the campsite is basic, with plenty of space however lugging water a long way is a challenge. Staff were always helpful and friendly, and the daily weather reports most useful.


12-08-17 The campsite is in a prime location with amazing views.  The campsite is very clean and tidy and laid back with where you want to pitch up. It is easy enough to walk into Abersoch and 5 minutes walk down to the beach. The toilets were never too busy but the showers could do with a good clean.


12-08-17 Beautiful views from the amazing site. Access road could be better as very narrow maybe need another route out and make it one way but that’s my only negative stayed here on a number of occasions and enjoyed it each time xxx

 

12-08-17 The campsite was exactly as portrayed on the website.  Stunning views, fantastic unspoilt beach with superb surf (although quite a trek and no facilities on the beach).  Very quiet campsite, with no camp shop but supermarket only 5 mins away. Excellent showers. Dog friendly on site (We are but dogs must be kept on a lead at all times on the site itself, and anything they ‘leave behind’ must be picked up and disposed of in the bin provided) and they are allowed on the beach all year round (Porth Ceiriad is one of  the only beaches with no dog restrictions on the Peninsula during the Summer months). Narrow single track road in and out of the site. Staff/owners couldn’t have been more helpful. My first time camping in 25 years and apparently I will be disappointed by other sites!

 

11-08-17 Thoroughly enjoyed our stay thank you

 

11-08-17 One slight drawback is that only 5 adults are allowed per booking. Can we bend this rule? (We don’t accommodate groups of over five adults in either single or combined bookings. Experience has taught us that two or more units together, no matter how nice the people are, do unintentionally generate high noise levels thus opposing what we advertise our site as being, which is a quiet, relaxing and peaceful site in a beautiful setting)

 

10-08-17 You won’t find a better view to wake up to, fantastic beach and location

 

10-08-17 We had a good weekend stay. The weather was terrible on Sunday but that didn’t reflect on the site. We would stay again for the views and beaches.

 

10-08-17 Fantastic place to stay due to its location to the amazing beach at the bottom of the hill.  Facilities basic, but clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.  Various food vans on site in the evenings, offering a good range of tasty food (The street food vendors are on site only on certain evenings during the end of July and through August).  Easy access to Abersoch and some other great destinations nearby.  We visited Aberdaran and the National Trust Plas yn Rhiw manor house – both well worth the trip.

 

09-08-17 My 2.5 year old and I had two nights on the campsite and we had a fabulous time. The location of the site to the beach is second to none. The grass pitches were well kept with fantastic views. A quiet and friendly site with no fuss, just how we like it. Staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Can’t wait to visit again! Thank you!!

 

09-08-17 On arrival  I was warmly greeted and made feel welcome. There were new washing up facilities this year. The surrounding countryside is very beautiful and the site has breathtaking views.  The beach is easily reached on foot. The owners expect campers to be considerate one for another and the booking form makes this clear.   I do not think the site could be much nicer and will be back next year.

 

09-08-17 The view from the panoramic camping field is fantastic, and the beach just below the campsite is stunning on a sunny day. It was very quiet when we stayed at the end of July 2017. We will be back. Highly recommended if you are seeking a beautiful location and lovely beach. Abersoch is 5 to 10 mins drive down the road.

 

08-08-17 Big Weather, Big Tides, Big Waves, Big Fun ….  a no nonsense campsite right next to the beach & sea…our family love it there and we keep going back for the helpfulness of their staff and the simplicity of it all … it’s clean, tidy and everyone is relaxed yet helpful …love it

 

07-08-17 Thank you yet again to Nant-y-Big for a great stay at the campsite this July. The staff are always friendly and helpful.  The facilities are spotless.  We like the look of the new washing up area too. The showers are fantastic – always clean and it’s a joy to have unlimited hot water without messing about with tokens etc. We love the panoramic site – even though it is a touch windy and a little more exposed to the weather. My 10 year old son and I choose Nant-y-Big because of the location – we park the car up on arrival and enjoy being able to walk to Port Ceriad beach, or use the coastal paths to Hell’s Mouth or over to Abersoch (for a quick shop or an ice cream!). We are so glad there is no shop or children’s play area on site.  The open spaces are great for frisby, cricket etc. and it’s always easy to find some other likeminded children to join in a quick game of football. We do hope to be back again in the near future.  It’s our favourite camp site on the Llyn Penninsula.

 

07-08-17 We have just returned from Nant-y- Big and despite the poor weather we had a lovely holiday. It’s not “Posh” but the showers are clean and tidy. It’s quiet and friendly. The joy of the site is the access to the beach . The single track access road isn’t a problem as Mr Jones asks you to ring him as you approach and will stop any traffic to keep the road clear.  (This service is only available to those camping in a Touring Caravan or Trailer Tent / Folding Camper) We will certainly return.

 

07-08-17 My Partner has been going to NyB since she was a little girl, we love the campsite, the beach and the Llyn area. When we camp there we have to do our traditional holiday tasks: To the pub for a meal at Llanbedrock; fish & chip supper from Abersoch; We climb Betys for the view (don’t know its Welsh name but look to the highest point); the walk to old Abersoch beach and the photograph;  A Beach BBQ on our last night (please leave the beach tidy).  We enjoy our Grandson making friends and there is plenty of space to run and explore. The staff are friendly and do the utmost to make your stay a good one. They always keep you posted and informed. We enjoy the walk to the beach and once there times flies as we build sandcastle; tackle the surf, explore the rocks, dig holes, throw stones and play football.

 

04-08-17 This was our second visit to Nant y big and it was another brilliant week. The setting is stunning, a 5 minute walk down to a sandy beach, and amazing views out to sea. The toilets and the hot showers are spotless, even when busy. The staff are friendly and patrol reguarly. Noise after 11pm is not allowed which means you are guaranteed a good night’s sleep. A great family campsite.

 

04-08-17 If you want to hear the sea while you are dropping off then this is the location for you.  Perched on a hillside overlooking Porth Ceriad beach this site is jaw droppingly beautiful and you can simply wake up, put your wetsuit on and wake yourself up properly in the sea…heaven!

 

03-08-17 Very friendly staff, welcoming and helpful. Great location, plenty of fields to spread out so didn’t feel crowded. We loved being right next to the beach and body boarding every day. Kids loved the pizza too. (The pizza would have been purchased from a street food vendor who visits the site a couple of days a week during the Summer, it’s not something that’s regularly available)

 

01-08-17 My husband myself and our youngest child (9 year old daughter) were recommended to this site by our eldest son who stayed here couple years ago.  We were not disappointed. We arrived to a warm greeting by the guy in reception who gave us lots of options on pitching places and said to let him know if there was anything at all we needed. We overlooked the beautiful unspoilt bay on a level pitch in spacious field. The facilities were spotless whatever time of day or night . We definitely will be back with the rest of our family and stay longer next time 10 out of 10!

 

31-07-17 Love the place have been 3 times. Still feel extra water supply is needed in the valley. Also when the site is busy in peak season the toilet and shower facilities appears to be a problem. Having to queue to use.

 
31-07-17 We found the campsite on the internet and were sold on the photos of spectacular views.  The person who took our booking was really helpful and in fact the staff were all fantastic and couldn’t do more.  The campsite was quiet although it got busier during our stay (during summer school holidays) but never felt like we were on top of anyone.  The facilities were good and the views to die for.  Good access to beach and coastal path.  Sublime and would definitely recommend to others.  Access for anything other than campers and small camper vans would be tricky but that is part of its charm!!  Thank you to everyone at Nant-y-Big – you made my holiday perfect and organised great weather too!!
 
30-07-17 We loved our 4 night stay in the panoramic field. The sites facilities were good and cleaned regularly. The location is superb a short walk down to a fantastic beach and short drive into Abersoch. Helpful staff and couldn’t recommend the site enough.
 
25-07-17 Lovely clean campsite. Lovely welcoming and informative staff. An adventure playground would be great for kids and a shop for basics. Had a great time and very spoilt by the beach. We will be back.

 

20-07-2017 Super site.. panoramic fields can get blustery but if you pitch carefully disruption will be minimal. Clean washrooms and showers fantastic quiet camp well managed.

 

20-07-17 Stunning views, tranquil site, would recommend, hopefully going back soon.

 

19-07-17 Loved everything about the site, in a quiet area with a fantastic dog friendly beach only a stone’s throw away. Fantastic toilets and showers. Everyone who worked there was friendly and helpful even the cleaner. Hoping to go back very soon. One of the best sites we have stayed at.

 

19-07-17 What an amazing site. The staff are lovely the whole site and facilities are very clean. Lots of space for children to run around and a short walk to a beautiful beach. It’s quiet with no drunken idiots and other people on site were very friendly. We will definitely be returning.

 

18-07-17 Lovely location with beautiful views and easy access to coastal paths.  Generous sized pitches. Thank you to the staff for lending us the OS map of the area.

 

14-07-2017 We love  it here peaceful and perfect surroundings. Totally unspoilt – with access to a fantastic beach. Site is well run with friendly staff and very clean facilities – thank you

 

14-07-2017 First time out with our trailer tent. Daughter and I had a blissful 3 night break which was much needed. Choice of pitch. Friendly staff.  Spotless shower block. Views to die for. Perfect walks with our 3 dogs. Loved it. Just needs a sign at the lane entrance!! (Unfortunately we don’t own the land at the end of our lane so cannot put up a sign) Bit of a hairy drive in down a single track. Other than that. We loved it.

 

13-07-2017 A fantastic location with friendly staff and perfect weather.

 

12-07-2017 On arrival at the site it was wet and windy, too windy in fact to put the tent up so we spent the first night with Aunty Betty in a lovely B&B just down the road. The very next day the sun was shining, the wind had eased off and the tent was erected in no time. Stunning views across Cardigan Bay and the Snowdonia mountain range with just the cries of the gulls and crows to break the silence, bliss. We will be back later on this summer for more, just hope it’s not too windy! Diolch-yn-fawr Dylan, Efion and Kate

 

02-07-17 Great location, near beach and great area

 

01-07-17 We loved Nant-y-Big! Fabulous views of the sea from the ‘panoramic’ field. A short walk (5-6 minutes) down to the secluded beach- with a bit of a climb back up to the tent! All in all a very restful break away from it all.

 

29-06-17 Just visit! You wont be disappointed!

 

27-06-17 A truly wonderful visit the weather could not have been better the hottest sunniest week of the year. It really is a perfect campsite great facilities spotless toilets /showers washing up  area helpful staff (our car  battery was flat  the warden sorted it in no time )   and so near to such a   fantastic beach everything needed for  great camping holiday .Shopping and eating in Abersoch only a few minutes drive away. We first visited in the 60’s and 70’s the site has lost none of it’s beauty or charm. It is a GEM.

 

26-06-17 Hi there, My partner and his family used to go when it was under the previous owner. He was happy to see that the campsite has only gotten better since. We really enjoyed ourselves – it was perfect for us and so well maintained. I’ll just mention 1 thing since we plan on making your campsite a regular destination, as it was what we so desperately needed after a work week. There was quite a bit of garbage piled up by the entrance to the beach – that’s all. Thanks so much, see you in the future.

 

24-06-17 We book Nant Y Big on a regular basis. The perfect place to get away from it all, peace and quiet, the site is never overbooked, there is always plenty of room between campers. The washing facilities are always spotless. I can’t rate the entertainment, because you make your own, but the beach is a stroll away, what more could you want? The staff and owners can’t do enough for you, always a cheerful smile. we love it. and the views, especially from the panoramic field are spectacular .with the occasional pod of porpoise or dolphins! Just watch the wind forecast, but the staff will advise you if high winds are expected, the lower field will protect you. PERFECT .

 

23-06-17 We chose to stay here based on a recommendation by friends. It was our first ever camping trip.  The location overlooking the sea is absolutely stunning and it is right above a beautiful, clean, uncrowded beach. The whole area felt peaceful and unspoiled. All the facilities were clean and well-maintained.  Staff were very friendly and helpful. We are hoping to go again soon.

 

23-06-17 Lovely countryside campsite. Ideal for walkers and families if you like a quiet holiday in beautiful unspoilt location. There are no facilities for children e.g. Play park but this is not needed a place where children are safe to play plenty of grassed areas to run around and play and close to a lovely private beach. Close to Abersoch if you need to buy groceries in Spar or Londis just a couple of miles away. Also great for a cliff top walk in to Abersoch or nearby Hells mouth you can walk the whole path now which we have done. We have stayed on this site 4 times now love here

 

23-06-17 Fantastic camping site with beautiful views and great facilities. The management keep this site safe and quiet, and the staff are more than friendly.

 

23-06-17 What a beautiful spot to pitch up! Me and my husband and 3 yr old spent 2 nights here over a stunning hot weekend in june. Couldnt fault the location, and short distance to the beach…. this was a bit if a steep hike with a 3 yr old but we happily managed it. (Not great for the not so mobile) Site had adequate facilities but nothing more than basic requirements. What was there was clean and easy accessible. Pitch up where you like, not stuck to uniform pitch numbers which means plenty if space! Felt like real camping as apposed to being organised like cattle. Owners very friendly and welcoming and strict rules meant campsite was quiet in the evening which was perfect for us! Really reccomend this site for its beautiful location for days spent at the beach. Abersoch itself is a couple miles away for us was too far to walk with the little one but when we forgot to bring rice with us on the first night, was easy enough to hop in the van and drive there quick enough. Will be going back when the next hot weekend strikes!

 

19-06-17 Beautiful beach, tranquil surroundings, friendly quiet fellow campers.  Nant-y-Big is absolute bliss.

 

18-06-17 This site is in a lovely location, with reasonable access to the beach for those who can climb/descend steps. Only toilet facilities at the lower end of the site (This is when camping in our In The Valley area). Showers are by the office. But would return for a peaceful break.

 

16-06-17 We stayed for a week at Nant Y Big which has the best location for anyone visiting the area. Great people, amazing location and a top time had by all. I will be returning to Nant Y Big

 

11-06-17 This is camping as it should be – a friendly and unstructured site which gives you choice over where and how to pitch with clean and excellent washing facilities. But most of all, it offers a place to unwind and reconnect with all that really matters in life – nature and spectacular views over sea and mountains, immediate access to a perfect beach and coast path and opportunities to ‘be’ with whoever you are with. Refreshing lack of any forced activity meant that people all around were communicating with each other in traditional games etc. – like we used to with our kids – allows people to give attention to each other.

 

09-06-17 We really enjoyed our stay at Nant Y Big  it was very clean and the free standing shower cubicles were great (no queuing!!) Every where was spotless, clean and tidy.  Lovely field for the children to play in, great path down to our own beach, where the kids had a great time body boarding. Quite steep walking back but not a problem for us.  Abersoch has a lovely quaint village with shops, restaurants, pubs everything is so well kept and picturesque.  We are hoping to return to the campsite again next year.

 

08-06-17 Had a lovely time here. Very peaceful and views were amazing

 

08-06-17 Lovely location and very peaceful. Facilities very good. Will definitely return and would recommend. Great being able to walk straight down to the beach and over the headlands to Abersoch.

 

07-06-17 While we can understand the need to limit the number of adults in a party we felt that 5 was a strange number. As most families travel as 2 adults, I would have thought it would be an even number. We visited with a second family meaning a total of 4 adults and 2 children but would have liked for another family of 2 adults and 1 child to join us which we couldn’t do. We’ll still be back though, love it!

 

07-06-2017 Fantastic stay once again, weather variable stayed on panoramic field and even though half term plenty of space and not too busy, lovely to see all the kids playing on field together. Saw dolphins which were a real treat. Love this place – and the staff, highly recommended but wouldn’t want it to get too busy would detract from beautiful surroundings

 

06-06-2017 Great, beautiful beach and lovely walks

 

06-06-2017 This was the second time we’d been here and both times we’ve be blessed with good weather.  It is in a stunning location, the beach is great and the loos in particular were spotless.  We will definitely return.

 

05-06-2017 Love staying on the panoramic field. The view is lovely.

 

05-06-2017 This campsite is just perfect if you like space , incredible views and peace and tranquility. Gorgeous views made even more amazing by the sight of dolphins every day. I will miss my morning cup of tea waiting for the first one to arrive. Staff really friendly and clearly pride themselves on having such an idyllic setting.

 

02-06-17 We’ve been visiting Nant y Big for some years and was wondering how we’d make out now we have a toddler, as a baby last year he didn’t move around. This time he wandered around our tent and the field exploring and enjoying the simplicity of the place, no fancy entertainment, just us as a family, lovely. The owners and staff where as lovely as ever.

 

02-06-17 Another brilliant stay at an amazing location run by lovely people! Great to be so close to the beach! Ample facilities for a good camping experience! Thanks to all at Nant-y-Big!

 

02-06-17 Beautiful setting, lovely staff. Will definitely return

 

18-05-17 Considering I arrived very late the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Beautiful site and excellent clean facilities. Will be back with my family soon.

 

14-05-17 Only a few other campers early May. Very good showers and toilets during our visit,may get overwhelmed if site busy. Exceptionally well kept natural fields, no pitch markings, beautiful views, easy access to beach and Coastal Path.

 

11-05-17 Very friendly site very well kept. Great views thanks so much we had a great time.

 

06-05-17 Great campsite, one of my favourite places to visit! Stunning views, lovely staff and the beach is just great. Would highly recommend!

 

05-05-17 Absolutely love this location, the views are unbelievable. Very quiet unspoilt site. The staff cannot do enough for you. If you want Wifi, phone signal and all the mod cons don’t stay here, if you want to relax, unwind then this is the site for you! Cannot wait to go back.

 

28-04-17 We just returned home from our Welsh adventure and Nant Y Big was absolutely a high light for us. We loved the location and had the most wonderful time, with superb views and such friendly and welcoming staff.  It was our first adventure in a motor home and we will definitely be back. Thank you so much

 

28-04-17 Pot holes need filling.

 

25-04-17 Tranquil, stunning location, friendly helpful staff, clean amenities, everything you need to get away from it all and recharge. Unspoilt little piece of heaven.

 

24-04-17 Lovely location, friendly helpful staff, clean and tidy facilities and grounds, look forward to returning.

 

24-04-17 Possible use of a washer and dryer (Not currently available on site)

 

22-04-17 Lady on the phone was very polite and helpful would and will be booking again thank you

 

22-04-17 Lovely, quiet location with great views, relaxing atmosphere. Keep your dog on a lead or the owner will tell you to :-)

 

22-04-17 Perfect location and feel

 

13-04-17 Great views, quiet, would highly recommend if you want a tranquil campsite.

 

09-04-17 “Third time I have stayed at Nant y Big and as good as the first two times. Already looking forward to going back.”

 

06-04-17 Needed somewhere nice to check out our newly acquired VW camper with a beach for Stan the dog. Nant y Big looked a likely spot and so it turned out. Just us and one other in a huge field with great views. Will be busier in the summer but will visit again for sure

25-09-16 Another fantastic stay at Nant y Big, a favourite annual site for a long weekend. 

 

20-09-16 A great site. Amazing views, a short walk (down quite a steep path) to the beach.  If you want lots of on site facilities and short walking distance to town, this wouldn’t be the site for you.  If you want peace ‘n’ quiet, a good clean site with outstanding views, to enjoy space and not be camping on top of somebody else and a nice little beach close by, this is ideal.  Staff are friendly & helpful.  Toilets and showers are clean and showers are lovely & hot. Washing up area could do with a bit of sprucing up. Nice touch is the freezers to pop your ice packs in to……and pens to name them! We’ll be visiting again for sure.

 

20-09-16 “A walk along the coastal path into Abersoch takes about 2 hours. We stayed in the family field with electric hook up, they do not have hard standings but the fields are well drained and level.”

 

17-09-16 “We chose nant y big from cool camping book & found it to be all we hoped for, low key  & quiet with all we needed as in hook up, sheltered pitch ( as much as possible as it was very windy )  right on coast path, 1.5 hour walk, 20/30 minute cycle ride to Abersoch. Showers were great plenty of hot water with good power & FREE. 5 minute walk to beach. Loved it, thank you”

 

13-09-16 Wonderful part of Wales.

 

09-09-16 We have been coming to Abersoch for years but have had to find somewhere else to stay. Nant y big was great.  Fabulous location, not very busy campsite and really good weather other than our departure in a monsoon like downpour.  We will definitely return.

 

09-09-16 Great location above a stunning beach but facilities need upgrading as there aren’t enough of them. I’m so glad we didn’t camp over the Bank Holiday weekend as showers/toilets must have been full all the time.

 

08-09-16 “We love this place, its remoteness and close proximity to beach, plenty of space. We had a windy weekend in the panoramic field but we laughed through the weather”

 

08-09-16 This is the second time we have stayed at Nant-y-big. The campsite is very extensive with numerous fields with fantastic views from the top panoramic field. The main facilities are in a large portacabin but don’t be put off the showers are free and always seem to be hot and the toilets are kept really clean and the wash up area always seems to have hot water.  But for us the best bit of the campsite is the access to the beach which the kids just love and will play on all day……..

 

07-09-16 “My son and I stayed at Nant-y-big for a couple of days at the end of the school holidays, having visited the site on a previous year with my husband. The staff were great, the pitches in excellent condition – and we had a great choice of which location to camp on – and the toilets/showers spotless. We loved the site for it’s ease of access to Porth Ceriad beach and the peace and quiet and superb views. Can’t wait to return…  Many thanks for a super end to our summer holidays. :)”

 

07-09-16 Lovely site in a beautiful setting.  The staff are the friendliest and most helpful of any site I’ve stayed at.  It’s no wonder that many of their visitors go back time and time again.

 

06-09-16 I sat on the clifftop looking down at the beautiful view, sipping wine, dog at my feet ,I commented to my husband that although I had enjoyed our Greek holiday two weeks before, camping here was just as nice. In many ways, it was preferable, as the weather was good and the scenery was green and blue. The campsite is clean and well-monitored by the site marshals (meaning it’s quiet) and is a place I will return to again and again.

 

06-09-16 Excellent campsite if you like amazing views – basic camping in a beautiful spot.  Toilets, showers and washing facilities were all clean and showers lovely and hot.  Long walk for water and toilets when in top field but we knew that and also that it is VERY exposed when windy….so unfortunately our stay was cut short!

 

06-09-16 “First time here for us, and we will definitely be back! The site itself is “”basic””, in that you make your own entertainments. There’s masses of open space (we went for four days- after the Bank Holiday), so the kids can run and entertain themselves. The beach is a short 10min walk away down the easily accessible path, and the Coastal Path is right there should you wish to venture along it. Beach is nice, sheltered and dog friendly. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Toilets and showers are basic but clean- showers are free and warm/ hot. Fields are tended well- grass cut and hedges kept trimmed. Abersoch is walkable, or a short drive away.”

 

06-09-16 “Back again to a fab site. As usual, blessed with great weather, views & sightings of porpoises. I love this quiet, peaceful site, with excellent beach access, good shower & toilet facilities and fab staff. Never too crowded as a camp site and improves year on year. I usually go myself, with the hound, but my friend came this year for the first half of my visit & she fell in love with it too. I’ll be back again next year.”

 

05-09-16 Great location for beaches in the area. Amazing coastal views. Clean showers with plenty of hot water. Site Wardens very helpful with info on local area. Would definitely return weather permitting as to get the best pitches you need to be on the outer edge facing the sea which could be bad during windy weather.

 

04-09-16 My family members stayed at Nant-y-Big for 3 weeks this summer – another relaxing holiday here. Now the children are a bit older the walk to the beach is an easy 10 minutes. The beach is just the best. Sandy, gently sloping, good waves, and large enough not to get too crowded. There are no toilet facilities on the beach which might also help with keeping hordes of people away. The campsite is run very smoothly and friendly – best for families looking for a quiet spot.

 

04-09-16 This was our 3rd visit to Nant-y-big and we cannot fault the location and site. All we would say was to put a speed restriction sign at the start of the Valley, as it is very dusty when the weather is dry and many vehicles only slow down when they see the 10 mile per hour sign which is about half way down the track. We will return next year.

 

04-09-16 Nant Y Big, is the most relaxing scenic wonderfully placed camp on the Llyn for us.  It has great walks a fabulous beach for paddling/swimming/surfing/fishing and generally having fun at.  Close enough to Abersoch to walk into along the coastal path.  If you want to stay on site  you can just chill looking out over beautiful views.  A great place to unwind.

 

04-09-16 “The views, staff, camping spots, security, safety and everything else is just too notch!! Go there and you always go back X”

 

03-09-16 Spent many a night at Nant-Y-Big thoroughly enjoyed and stayed in various parts, the family field and the panoramic field.  Facilities are good, could be better for ladies to get ready with additional area and power points, but otherwise a good base for a fantastic holiday.  Staff are superb

 

03-09-16 “This was a last minute booking for the bank holiday so we had limited choice of camping in the area which was a blessing in disguise! The greeting from the staff was very friendly, very helpful and welcoming. We were placed in the family field, a short but easy walk from the toilet block. The site felt very well looked after and had a lovely feel to it. The walk to the beach is a little long and steep but worth it, the beach was lovely. Only downside was the access as it’s a long narrow lane with few passing places- however staff were very willing to go to the end of the lane to stop traffic for us so no complaints there! (Call ahead of you are towing!) We will definitely be back for another visit.”

 

03-09-16 We arrived late on a Friday night so it was dark, woke up to an amazing view the next morning that couldn’t be faulted, however took the dog around the fields in the morning as advised by the friendly guy who booked us in and found an even better spot on the field higher up so started the camper van and relocated!! it was amazing, everyone was so friendly and even though the website said it was fully booked , peoples experiences was put before profit as we only had 8 people on our field instead of being crammed in and falling over one another.  as we had chosen to camp at the furthest point, we were quite a trek from the loos, not good first thing I practically ran down to them lol but that was our choice!! and shockingly for a bank holiday the weather was out of this world!! (the guy said it was because we were in Wales and not England!!). definitely coming back xx

 

03-09-16 The camp site was great, staff very friendly and helpful. The beach was awesome.

 

03-09-16 Stayed here Aug 16 for a week.  Super friendly staff who made sure our stay was hassle free. The beach was a 10 min walk where we had regular visits from the local Dolphins!! (uphill on way back so beware, kids moan ha) The site could benefit from more shower blocks but other than that couldn’t fault staff or site! :)

 

02-09-16 Although this site does not have a shop, bar, play area etc and it could do with a shower/toilet block up on the top fields overlooking porth ceriad, we love this site. The views are breathtaking, the staff lovely, grounds kept pristine. This is our 2nd visit and we are already planning on returning next year.

 

02-09-16 This is a beautiful, tranquil campsite for people wanting a quiet and civilized place to stay. It is not for party goers, groups and Hoo Ray Henrys.

 

01-09-16 “We were really pleased that our late booking was accepted and stayed for 3 nights. It was just what we were looking for a quiet campsite with an amazing view, close to a beach and coastal walks – and not far from a pub The Sun – that had brilliant food. Very friendly and accommodating staff. One note to other campers…please, if you have a whole field to camp in don’t pitch your tents and park your cars right next other people, blocking the amazing views and being noisy til gone 12.30. It happened to us on our last night! Not the fault of the campsite but inconsiderate campers.”

 

31-08-16 This site is everything that we have been looking for during some 20 years of camping.  Maximising on the peaceful, unspoilt location, with stunning views and a glorious beach on the doorstep, Nant Y Big has appropriate ‘rules’ and expectations to ensure respect and consideration from all users, yet sustaining a laid-back, relaxed atmosphere, ie. not so many rules that you fear breaking them, or quietly resent being constantly told what to do!  Staff are welcoming, helpful and friendly, with many a tale to tell.  If you want wall-to-wall amusements, staged entertainment and playgrounds then this is not the place for you.  On the other hand, if you need to unwind, lose your mobile, reconnect with the great outdoors and all it has to offer, then this must surely be your Eden.  To recommend just a few of the attractions of the Llyn for days away from camp, the National Trust coastal Safari walks from Aberdaron offer spectacular views and possible porpoise, peregrine, hen harrier and hare sightings; a 20 minute walk across the golf course at Morfa Nefyn leads to the  village of Porthdinllaen and a fabulous ‘chips free’ lunch at the beachside Ty Coch Inn; a visit to Nefyn will take you to a resort lost in time which, with its breakwater and sheltered, natural cove, provides a safe play and bathing beach.  Our first, but hopefully not our final visit to this most special site and area of outstanding beauty.

 

31-08-16 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Nant y big

 

30-08-16 From my telephone call to ask about pitch availability to arriving and given directions to our pitch I cannot fault the friendliness of the staff. My ONLY problem was the cost. We were on the family field which literally is just a field yet were charged 32.50 per night, 2 pound for the dog which always puzzles me as the only facilities she uses are mine and hubby’s knee (the site provided none for her) If it wasn’t for the fact our friends have a seasonal pitch and we were visiting them I’d have gone elsewhere I’m afraid.  That said,  the (basic) facilities were always clean and the site seems well looked after. Couldn’t get the wifi so can’t comment on quality of it 😉

 

30-08-16 Enjoyed our brief stay at Nant y Big, very helpful staff and a great beach near by

 

30-08-16 Really enjoyed 4 nights at Nant-y-Big with my family this summer.  Calm, quiet and relaxed site with good facilities and nothing to do except look at the view and go down to the beach.  Loads of space for the kids to run around and plenty of space between pitches.    A bit of a hike from the top field down to the facilities but worth it for the free, clean, hot and powerful showers.  Staff very friendly with good recommendations for things to do in the