Back to Top

 

Reviews

 

 

 

 
 
 

have

 

The following are all the feedback reviews, good and bad, we have received during the last year:

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

14-05-17 Only a few other campers early May. Very good showers and toilets during our visit,may get overwhelmed if site busy. Exceptionally well kept natural fields, no pitch markings, beautiful views, easy access to beach and Coastal Path.


11-05-17 Very friendly site very well kept. Great views thanks so much we had a great time.


06-05-17 Great campsite, one of my favourite places to visit! Stunning views, lovely staff and the beach is just great. Would highly recommend!

 

05-05-17 Absolutely love this location, the views are unbelievable. Very quiet unspoilt site. The staff cannot do enough for you. If you want Wifi, phone signal and all the mod cons don’t stay here, if you want to relax, unwind then this is the site for you! Cannot wait to go back.

 

28-04-17 We just returned home from our Welsh adventure and Nant Y Big was absolutely a high light for us. We loved the location and had the most wonderful time, with superb views and such friendly and welcoming staff.  It was our first adventure in a motor home and we will definitely be back. Thank you so much

 

28-04-17 Pot holes need filling.

 

25-04-17 Tranquil, stunning location, friendly helpful staff, clean amenities, everything you need to get away from it all and recharge. Unspoilt little piece of heaven.

 

24-04-17 Lovely location, friendly helpful staff, clean and tidy facilities and grounds, look forward to returning.

 

24-04-17 Possible use of a washer and dryer (Not currently available on site)

 

22-04-17 Lady on the phone was very polite and helpful would and will be booking again thank you

 

22-04-17 Lovely, quiet location with great views, relaxing atmosphere. Keep your dog on a lead or the owner will tell you to :-)

 

22-04-17 Perfect location and feel

 

13-04-17 Great views, quiet, would highly recommend if you want a tranquil campsite.

 

09-04-17 “Third time I have stayed at Nant y Big and as good as the first two times. Already looking forward to going back.”

 

06-04-17 Needed somewhere nice to check out our newly acquired VW camper with a beach for Stan the dog. Nant y Big looked a likely spot and so it turned out. Just us and one other in a huge field with great views. Will be busier in the summer but will visit again for sure

25-09-16 Another fantastic stay at Nant y Big, a favourite annual site for a long weekend. 

 

20-09-16 A great site. Amazing views, a short walk (down quite a steep path) to the beach.  If you want lots of on site facilities and short walking distance to town, this wouldn’t be the site for you.  If you want peace ‘n’ quiet, a good clean site with outstanding views, to enjoy space and not be camping on top of somebody else and a nice little beach close by, this is ideal.  Staff are friendly & helpful.  Toilets and showers are clean and showers are lovely & hot. Washing up area could do with a bit of sprucing up. Nice touch is the freezers to pop your ice packs in to……and pens to name them! We’ll be visiting again for sure.

 

20-09-16 “A walk along the coastal path into Abersoch takes about 2 hours. We stayed in the family field with electric hook up, they do not have hard standings but the fields are well drained and level.”

 

17-09-16 “We chose nant y big from cool camping book & found it to be all we hoped for, low key  & quiet with all we needed as in hook up, sheltered pitch ( as much as possible as it was very windy )  right on coast path, 1.5 hour walk, 20/30 minute cycle ride to Abersoch. Showers were great plenty of hot water with good power & FREE. 5 minute walk to beach. Loved it, thank you”

 

13-09-16 Wonderful part of Wales.

 

09-09-16 We have been coming to Abersoch for years but have had to find somewhere else to stay. Nant y big was great.  Fabulous location, not very busy campsite and really good weather other than our departure in a monsoon like downpour.  We will definitely return.

 

09-09-16 Great location above a stunning beach but facilities need upgrading as there aren’t enough of them. I’m so glad we didn’t camp over the Bank Holiday weekend as showers/toilets must have been full all the time.

 

08-09-16 “We love this place, its remoteness and close proximity to beach, plenty of space. We had a windy weekend in the panoramic field but we laughed through the weather”

 

08-09-16 This is the second time we have stayed at Nant-y-big. The campsite is very extensive with numerous fields with fantastic views from the top panoramic field. The main facilities are in a large portacabin but don’t be put off the showers are free and always seem to be hot and the toilets are kept really clean and the wash up area always seems to have hot water.  But for us the best bit of the campsite is the access to the beach which the kids just love and will play on all day……..

 

07-09-16 “My son and I stayed at Nant-y-big for a couple of days at the end of the school holidays, having visited the site on a previous year with my husband. The staff were great, the pitches in excellent condition – and we had a great choice of which location to camp on – and the toilets/showers spotless. We loved the site for it’s ease of access to Porth Ceriad beach and the peace and quiet and superb views. Can’t wait to return…  Many thanks for a super end to our summer holidays. :)”

 

07-09-16 Lovely site in a beautiful setting.  The staff are the friendliest and most helpful of any site I’ve stayed at.  It’s no wonder that many of their visitors go back time and time again.

 

06-09-16 I sat on the clifftop looking down at the beautiful view, sipping wine, dog at my feet ,I commented to my husband that although I had enjoyed our Greek holiday two weeks before, camping here was just as nice. In many ways, it was preferable, as the weather was good and the scenery was green and blue. The campsite is clean and well-monitored by the site marshals (meaning it’s quiet) and is a place I will return to again and again.

 

06-09-16 Excellent campsite if you like amazing views – basic camping in a beautiful spot.  Toilets, showers and washing facilities were all clean and showers lovely and hot.  Long walk for water and toilets when in top field but we knew that and also that it is VERY exposed when windy….so unfortunately our stay was cut short!

 

06-09-16 “First time here for us, and we will definitely be back! The site itself is “”basic””, in that you make your own entertainments. There’s masses of open space (we went for four days- after the Bank Holiday), so the kids can run and entertain themselves. The beach is a short 10min walk away down the easily accessible path, and the Coastal Path is right there should you wish to venture along it. Beach is nice, sheltered and dog friendly. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Toilets and showers are basic but clean- showers are free and warm/ hot. Fields are tended well- grass cut and hedges kept trimmed. Abersoch is walkable, or a short drive away.”

 

06-09-16 “Back again to a fab site. As usual, blessed with great weather, views & sightings of porpoises. I love this quiet, peaceful site, with excellent beach access, good shower & toilet facilities and fab staff. Never too crowded as a camp site and improves year on year. I usually go myself, with the hound, but my friend came this year for the first half of my visit & she fell in love with it too. I’ll be back again next year.”

 

05-09-16 Great location for beaches in the area. Amazing coastal views. Clean showers with plenty of hot water. Site Wardens very helpful with info on local area. Would definitely return weather permitting as to get the best pitches you need to be on the outer edge facing the sea which could be bad during windy weather.

 

04-09-16 My family members stayed at Nant-y-Big for 3 weeks this summer – another relaxing holiday here. Now the children are a bit older the walk to the beach is an easy 10 minutes. The beach is just the best. Sandy, gently sloping, good waves, and large enough not to get too crowded. There are no toilet facilities on the beach which might also help with keeping hordes of people away. The campsite is run very smoothly and friendly – best for families looking for a quiet spot.

 

04-09-16 This was our 3rd visit to Nant-y-big and we cannot fault the location and site. All we would say was to put a speed restriction sign at the start of the Valley, as it is very dusty when the weather is dry and many vehicles only slow down when they see the 10 mile per hour sign which is about half way down the track. We will return next year.

 

04-09-16 Nant Y Big, is the most relaxing scenic wonderfully placed camp on the Llyn for us.  It has great walks a fabulous beach for paddling/swimming/surfing/fishing and generally having fun at.  Close enough to Abersoch to walk into along the coastal path.  If you want to stay on site  you can just chill looking out over beautiful views.  A great place to unwind.

 

04-09-16 “The views, staff, camping spots, security, safety and everything else is just too notch!! Go there and you always go back X”

 

03-09-16 Spent many a night at Nant-Y-Big thoroughly enjoyed and stayed in various parts, the family field and the panoramic field.  Facilities are good, could be better for ladies to get ready with additional area and power points, but otherwise a good base for a fantastic holiday.  Staff are superb

 

03-09-16 “This was a last minute booking for the bank holiday so we had limited choice of camping in the area which was a blessing in disguise! The greeting from the staff was very friendly, very helpful and welcoming. We were placed in the family field, a short but easy walk from the toilet block. The site felt very well looked after and had a lovely feel to it. The walk to the beach is a little long and steep but worth it, the beach was lovely. Only downside was the access as it’s a long narrow lane with few passing places- however staff were very willing to go to the end of the lane to stop traffic for us so no complaints there! (Call ahead of you are towing!) We will definitely be back for another visit.”

 

03-09-16 We arrived late on a Friday night so it was dark, woke up to an amazing view the next morning that couldn’t be faulted, however took the dog around the fields in the morning as advised by the friendly guy who booked us in and found an even better spot on the field higher up so started the camper van and relocated!! it was amazing, everyone was so friendly and even though the website said it was fully booked , peoples experiences was put before profit as we only had 8 people on our field instead of being crammed in and falling over one another.  as we had chosen to camp at the furthest point, we were quite a trek from the loos, not good first thing I practically ran down to them lol but that was our choice!! and shockingly for a bank holiday the weather was out of this world!! (the guy said it was because we were in Wales and not England!!). definitely coming back xx

 

03-09-16 The camp site was great, staff very friendly and helpful. The beach was awesome.

 

03-09-16 Stayed here Aug 16 for a week.  Super friendly staff who made sure our stay was hassle free. The beach was a 10 min walk where we had regular visits from the local Dolphins!! (uphill on way back so beware, kids moan ha) The site could benefit from more shower blocks but other than that couldn’t fault staff or site! :)

 

02-09-16 Although this site does not have a shop, bar, play area etc and it could do with a shower/toilet block up on the top fields overlooking porth ceriad, we love this site. The views are breathtaking, the staff lovely, grounds kept pristine. This is our 2nd visit and we are already planning on returning next year.

 

02-09-16 This is a beautiful, tranquil campsite for people wanting a quiet and civilized place to stay. It is not for party goers, groups and Hoo Ray Henrys.

 

01-09-16 “We were really pleased that our late booking was accepted and stayed for 3 nights. It was just what we were looking for a quiet campsite with an amazing view, close to a beach and coastal walks – and not far from a pub The Sun – that had brilliant food. Very friendly and accommodating staff. One note to other campers…please, if you have a whole field to camp in don’t pitch your tents and park your cars right next other people, blocking the amazing views and being noisy til gone 12.30. It happened to us on our last night! Not the fault of the campsite but inconsiderate campers.”

 

31-08-16 This site is everything that we have been looking for during some 20 years of camping.  Maximising on the peaceful, unspoilt location, with stunning views and a glorious beach on the doorstep, Nant Y Big has appropriate ‘rules’ and expectations to ensure respect and consideration from all users, yet sustaining a laid-back, relaxed atmosphere, ie. not so many rules that you fear breaking them, or quietly resent being constantly told what to do!  Staff are welcoming, helpful and friendly, with many a tale to tell.  If you want wall-to-wall amusements, staged entertainment and playgrounds then this is not the place for you.  On the other hand, if you need to unwind, lose your mobile, reconnect with the great outdoors and all it has to offer, then this must surely be your Eden.  To recommend just a few of the attractions of the Llyn for days away from camp, the National Trust coastal Safari walks from Aberdaron offer spectacular views and possible porpoise, peregrine, hen harrier and hare sightings; a 20 minute walk across the golf course at Morfa Nefyn leads to the  village of Porthdinllaen and a fabulous ‘chips free’ lunch at the beachside Ty Coch Inn; a visit to Nefyn will take you to a resort lost in time which, with its breakwater and sheltered, natural cove, provides a safe play and bathing beach.  Our first, but hopefully not our final visit to this most special site and area of outstanding beauty.

 

31-08-16 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Nant y big

 

30-08-16 From my telephone call to ask about pitch availability to arriving and given directions to our pitch I cannot fault the friendliness of the staff. My ONLY problem was the cost. We were on the family field which literally is just a field yet were charged 32.50 per night, 2 pound for the dog which always puzzles me as the only facilities she uses are mine and hubby’s knee (the site provided none for her) If it wasn’t for the fact our friends have a seasonal pitch and we were visiting them I’d have gone elsewhere I’m afraid.  That said,  the (basic) facilities were always clean and the site seems well looked after. Couldn’t get the wifi so can’t comment on quality of it 😉

 

30-08-16 Enjoyed our brief stay at Nant y Big, very helpful staff and a great beach near by

 

30-08-16 Really enjoyed 4 nights at Nant-y-Big with my family this summer.  Calm, quiet and relaxed site with good facilities and nothing to do except look at the view and go down to the beach.  Loads of space for the kids to run around and plenty of space between pitches.    A bit of a hike from the top field down to the facilities but worth it for the free, clean, hot and powerful showers.  Staff very friendly with good recommendations for things to do in the