Back to Top

 

Reviews

 

 

 

 
 
 

have

 

The following are all the feedback reviews, good and bad, we have received during the last year:

 
 
 

 
 


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


25-09-16 Another fantastic stay at Nant y Big, a favourite annual site for a long weekend.

 

20-09-16 A great site. Amazing views, a short walk (down quite a steep path) to the beach.  If you want lots of on site facilities and short walking distance to town, this wouldn’t be the site for you.  If you want peace ‘n’ quiet, a good clean site with outstanding views, to enjoy space and not be camping on top of somebody else and a nice little beach close by, this is ideal.  Staff are friendly & helpful.  Toilets and showers are clean and showers are lovely & hot. Washing up area could do with a bit of sprucing up. Nice touch is the freezers to pop your ice packs in to……and pens to name them! We’ll be visiting again for sure.

 

20-09-16 “A walk along the coastal path into Abersoch takes about 2 hours. We stayed in the family field with electric hook up, they do not have hard standings but the fields are well drained and level.”

 

17-09-16 “We chose nant y big from cool camping book & found it to be all we hoped for, low key  & quiet with all we needed as in hook up, sheltered pitch ( as much as possible as it was very windy )  right on coast path, 1.5 hour walk, 20/30 minute cycle ride to Abersoch. Showers were great plenty of hot water with good power & FREE. 5 minute walk to beach. Loved it, thank you”

 

13-09-16 Wonderful part of Wales.

 

09-09-16 We have been coming to Abersoch for years but have had to find somewhere else to stay. Nant y big was great.  Fabulous location, not very busy campsite and really good weather other than our departure in a monsoon like downpour.  We will definitely return.

 

09-09-16 Great location above a stunning beach but facilities need upgrading as there aren’t enough of them. I’m so glad we didn’t camp over the Bank Holiday weekend as showers/toilets must have been full all the time.

 

08-09-16 “We love this place, its remoteness and close proximity to beach, plenty of space. We had a windy weekend in the panoramic field but we laughed through the weather”

 

08-09-16 This is the second time we have stayed at Nant-y-big. The campsite is very extensive with numerous fields with fantastic views from the top panoramic field. The main facilities are in a large portacabin but don’t be put off the showers are free and always seem to be hot and the toilets are kept really clean and the wash up area always seems to have hot water.  But for us the best bit of the campsite is the access to the beach which the kids just love and will play on all day……..

 

07-09-16 “My son and I stayed at Nant-y-big for a couple of days at the end of the school holidays, having visited the site on a previous year with my husband. The staff were great, the pitches in excellent condition – and we had a great choice of which location to camp on – and the toilets/showers spotless. We loved the site for it’s ease of access to Porth Ceriad beach and the peace and quiet and superb views. Can’t wait to return…  Many thanks for a super end to our summer holidays. :)”

 

07-09-16 Lovely site in a beautiful setting.  The staff are the friendliest and most helpful of any site I’ve stayed at.  It’s no wonder that many of their visitors go back time and time again.

 

06-09-16 I sat on the clifftop looking down at the beautiful view, sipping wine, dog at my feet ,I commented to my husband that although I had enjoyed our Greek holiday two weeks before, camping here was just as nice. In many ways, it was preferable, as the weather was good and the scenery was green and blue. The campsite is clean and well-monitored by the site marshals (meaning it’s quiet) and is a place I will return to again and again.

 

06-09-16 Excellent campsite if you like amazing views – basic camping in a beautiful spot.  Toilets, showers and washing facilities were all clean and showers lovely and hot.  Long walk for water and toilets when in top field but we knew that and also that it is VERY exposed when windy….so unfortunately our stay was cut short!

 

06-09-16 “First time here for us, and we will definitely be back! The site itself is “”basic””, in that you make your own entertainments. There’s masses of open space (we went for four days- after the Bank Holiday), so the kids can run and entertain themselves. The beach is a short 10min walk away down the easily accessible path, and the Coastal Path is right there should you wish to venture along it. Beach is nice, sheltered and dog friendly. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Toilets and showers are basic but clean- showers are free and warm/ hot. Fields are tended well- grass cut and hedges kept trimmed. Abersoch is walkable, or a short drive away.”

 

06-09-16 “Back again to a fab site. As usual, blessed with great weather, views & sightings of porpoises. I love this quiet, peaceful site, with excellent beach access, good shower & toilet facilities and fab staff. Never too crowded as a camp site and improves year on year. I usually go myself, with the hound, but my friend came this year for the first half of my visit & she fell in love with it too. I’ll be back again next year.”

 

05-09-16 Great location for beaches in the area. Amazing coastal views. Clean showers with plenty of hot water. Site Wardens very helpful with info on local area. Would definitely return weather permitting as to get the best pitches you need to be on the outer edge facing the sea which could be bad during windy weather.

 

04-09-16 My family members stayed at Nant-y-Big for 3 weeks this summer – another relaxing holiday here. Now the children are a bit older the walk to the beach is an easy 10 minutes. The beach is just the best. Sandy, gently sloping, good waves, and large enough not to get too crowded. There are no toilet facilities on the beach which might also help with keeping hordes of people away. The campsite is run very smoothly and friendly – best for families looking for a quiet spot.

 

04-09-16 This was our 3rd visit to Nant-y-big and we cannot fault the location and site. All we would say was to put a speed restriction sign at the start of the Valley, as it is very dusty when the weather is dry and many vehicles only slow down when they see the 10 mile per hour sign which is about half way down the track. We will return next year.

 

04-09-16 Nant Y Big, is the most relaxing scenic wonderfully placed camp on the Llyn for us.  It has great walks a fabulous beach for paddling/swimming/surfing/fishing and generally having fun at.  Close enough to Abersoch to walk into along the coastal path.  If you want to stay on site  you can just chill looking out over beautiful views.  A great place to unwind.

 

04-09-16 “The views, staff, camping spots, security, safety and everything else is just too notch!! Go there and you always go back X”

 

03-09-16 Spent many a night at Nant-Y-Big thoroughly enjoyed and stayed in various parts, the family field and the panoramic field.  Facilities are good, could be better for ladies to get ready with additional area and power points, but otherwise a good base for a fantastic holiday.  Staff are superb

 

03-09-16 “This was a last minute booking for the bank holiday so we had limited choice of camping in the area which was a blessing in disguise! The greeting from the staff was very friendly, very helpful and welcoming. We were placed in the family field, a short but easy walk from the toilet block. The site felt very well looked after and had a lovely feel to it. The walk to the beach is a little long and steep but worth it, the beach was lovely. Only downside was the access as it’s a long narrow lane with few passing places- however staff were very willing to go to the end of the lane to stop traffic for us so no complaints there! (Call ahead of you are towing!) We will definitely be back for another visit.”

 

03-09-16 We arrived late on a Friday night so it was dark, woke up to an amazing view the next morning that couldn’t be faulted, however took the dog around the fields in the morning as advised by the friendly guy who booked us in and found an even better spot on the field higher up so started the camper van and relocated!! it was amazing, everyone was so friendly and even though the website said it was fully booked , peoples experiences was put before profit as we only had 8 people on our field instead of being crammed in and falling over one another.  as we had chosen to camp at the furthest point, we were quite a trek from the loos, not good first thing I practically ran down to them lol but that was our choice!! and shockingly for a bank holiday the weather was out of this world!! (the guy said it was because we were in Wales and not England!!). definitely coming back xx

 

03-09-16 The camp site was great, staff very friendly and helpful. The beach was awesome.

 

03-09-16 Stayed here Aug 16 for a week.  Super friendly staff who made sure our stay was hassle free. The beach was a 10 min walk where we had regular visits from the local Dolphins!! (uphill on way back so beware, kids moan ha) The site could benefit from more shower blocks but other than that couldn’t fault staff or site! :)

 

02-09-16 Although this site does not have a shop, bar, play area etc and it could do with a shower/toilet block up on the top fields overlooking porth ceriad, we love this site. The views are breathtaking, the staff lovely, grounds kept pristine. This is our 2nd visit and we are already planning on returning next year.

 

02-09-16 This is a beautiful, tranquil campsite for people wanting a quiet and civilized place to stay. It is not for party goers, groups and Hoo Ray Henrys.

 

01-09-16 “We were really pleased that our late booking was accepted and stayed for 3 nights. It was just what we were looking for a quiet campsite with an amazing view, close to a beach and coastal walks – and not far from a pub The Sun – that had brilliant food. Very friendly and accommodating staff. One note to other campers…please, if you have a whole field to camp in don’t pitch your tents and park your cars right next other people, blocking the amazing views and being noisy til gone 12.30. It happened to us on our last night! Not the fault of the campsite but inconsiderate campers.”

 

31-08-16 This site is everything that we have been looking for during some 20 years of camping.  Maximising on the peaceful, unspoilt location, with stunning views and a glorious beach on the doorstep, Nant Y Big has appropriate ‘rules’ and expectations to ensure respect and consideration from all users, yet sustaining a laid-back, relaxed atmosphere, ie. not so many rules that you fear breaking them, or quietly resent being constantly told what to do!  Staff are welcoming, helpful and friendly, with many a tale to tell.  If you want wall-to-wall amusements, staged entertainment and playgrounds then this is not the place for you.  On the other hand, if you need to unwind, lose your mobile, reconnect with the great outdoors and all it has to offer, then this must surely be your Eden.  To recommend just a few of the attractions of the Llyn for days away from camp, the National Trust coastal Safari walks from Aberdaron offer spectacular views and possible porpoise, peregrine, hen harrier and hare sightings; a 20 minute walk across the golf course at Morfa Nefyn leads to the  village of Porthdinllaen and a fabulous ‘chips free’ lunch at the beachside Ty Coch Inn; a visit to Nefyn will take you to a resort lost in time which, with its breakwater and sheltered, natural cove, provides a safe play and bathing beach.  Our first, but hopefully not our final visit to this most special site and area of outstanding beauty.

 

31-08-16 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Nant y big

 

30-08-16 From my telephone call to ask about pitch availability to arriving and given directions to our pitch I cannot fault the friendliness of the staff. My ONLY problem was the cost. We were on the family field which literally is just a field yet were charged 32.50 per night, 2 pound for the dog which always puzzles me as the only facilities she uses are mine and hubby’s knee (the site provided none for her) If it wasn’t for the fact our friends have a seasonal pitch and we were visiting them I’d have gone elsewhere I’m afraid.  That said,  the (basic) facilities were always clean and the site seems well looked after. Couldn’t get the wifi so can’t comment on quality of it 😉

 

30-08-16 Enjoyed our brief stay at Nant y Big, very helpful staff and a great beach near by

 

30-08-16 Really enjoyed 4 nights at Nant-y-Big with my family this summer.  Calm, quiet and relaxed site with good facilities and nothing to do except look at the view and go down to the beach.  Loads of space for the kids to run around and plenty of space between pitches.    A bit of a hike from the top field down to the facilities but worth it for the free, clean, hot and powerful showers.  Staff very friendly with good recommendations for things to do in the local area. Highly recommend

 

29-08-16 This is a lovely site at the top of a beautiful beach. The wc facilities were always clean although basic which is fine… We had to cut our trip short as the wind was very bad and with being on top of a cliff it managed to break our tent.. However, a full refund (minus the 2 night stay) was given which was very greatly received. Staff were lovely and did everything they could in order to help… We would definitely stay again, and just hope for less wind next time.

 

26-08-16 Amazing views, amazing staff, very helpful.

 

24-08-16 “My family and I have just spent 2 nights at Nant-y-big and wished it could have been longer! The location of this campsite is hard to beat if you want spectacular views and access to a beautiful beach. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the facilities were clean and of a good standard. We will definitely be returning. Thank you for a great break.”

 

24-08-16 Great staff and amazing location. Beautiful beach too. We will be back.

 

22-08-16  If peace, tranquillity and the best beach on the peninsula is what you require stay here. Very friendly campers who want a get away from it experience. No noise, plenty of space, this site is bliss and right on coastal walk path.

 

22-08-16 The location is spot on 5 min walk to a lovely beach

 

21-08-16 Me and my partner & our two dogs spent a lovely 3 nights at this lovely campsite last weekend, we had the bonus of the gorgeous weather:) .. on arrival we were greeted by the very friendly staff members in reception, all information was very quick and efficient, we chose to pitch up on the panoramic view fields & it was definitely the right choice as the views r breathtakingly beautiful:) me & my partner love to walk and we were spoilt for choice with all the gorgeous surrounding walks and the private beach .. our furrbabies George & Dawson definitely approved :) we loved every minute & cannot wait to return.. the site is very basic but just wat u want if you’re looking for a peaceful relaxing camping trip!:)

 

20-08-16 Lle gwych i fwynhau Porth Ceiriad ac i grwydro o gwmpas Pen Llyn. Golygfeydd arbennig o’r cae ucha. Diolch

 

20-08-16 This is a beautiful area with a fantastic beach. The staff are helpful, welcoming and friendly. The washing facilities are of a high standard and the general surroundings are clean and well kept.

 

19-08-16 Nant y Big is a well run site, with extremely helpful and friendly staff. I felt very safe there as they drive round all the different camping areas to make sure all is well. They are quite strict – it is not the place for parties. we had a wonderful weekend camping there. Thank you, I will be back.

 

19-08-16 Excellent camp site just over a mile out of Abersoch. The beach at the campsite is great for all the family. Site itself is very clean and the staff very helpful. Will be booking again for next year.

 

19-08-16 “Walked in straight off the Coastal Walk path. Easy to find and fantastic location. Nice and quiet and lovely clean showers.I will most definitely be returning with the rest of the family for a longer stay.”

 

18-08-16 Lovely panoramic views of the bay. Plenty of space even when busy. Great beach access as long as as you don’t mind a steep walk back to site! Toilets and shower block would be better if located closer to the panoramic site. A separate wash facility is really needed rather than trying to brush your teeth in the toilet block.. but we still had a fantastic stay

 

18-08-16  Fantastic beach 5 min walk. Nice area to walk the coastal path, half hour walk to Abersoch village over the fields. Nice grass area for kids to play. Friendly family who run the site. Clean washing facilities.

 

18-08-16 We had a two night stay and loved the fantastic views and surroundings. Well worth a visit. Great for walks around the costal paths

 

17-08-16 We had a great week at this site… A very good location near to Abersoch and right on a lovely beach. Clean toilets and showers… A really good design too.  We stayed at the top of the site and it was very windy during our stay… The lower pitches are much more sheltered.  A small washing up shed and a freezer for ice blocks was useful.  Not much else there… no shop.  Very quiet… Strict rules on night time noise,  litter etc. which was great for us. We took our dog and being near the beach was great for him… No bins on path from beach to campsite though which would have been useful.  Would definitely return.

 

16-08-16 “Beautiful natural site. Views gorgeous . Direct access to coastal footpath and  beautiful Port Ceriad beach a short walk away. We had a very windy stay but found the site staff very helpful and reassuring. Ideal location for exploring the Lyn peninsula. We love walking, swimming and bodyboarding and it’s great for all three, : ) Showers clean and hot but could maybe do with a few more . Would definitely return.”

 

16-08-16  Had an amazing two nights. Everyone was incredibly friendly. We arrived late but they left us a key and the staff were incredibly helpful. Beautifully kept, no litter and no noise after 11. I will defiantly return.

 

15-08-16  No childrens facilities but woud have appreciated it as in the caravan area it was hard for kids to meet. No entertainment was needed for our 12 year old although he would have liked wifi to be better.

 

15-08-16 “Large expanse of immaculate grass, great sea/cliff views; nice to park where we like. Lots of space to camp even in high summer. Choice of spaces too. Access road narrow one lane- would not like to bring a large rig, though others did!”

 

14-08-16 We love Nant y Big. It’s in a great spot overlooking a beautiful beach. Must importantly ( for us) it is a well controlled site – quiet and not at all crowded. It has all we need in terms of facilities and really friendly helpful staff.

 

13-08-16  We can’t rate this site highly enough. The staff are brilliant and they engender a sense of happiness, helpfulness and concern for neighbours/fellow campers.   The  location is one of the loveliest in the UK with glorious coastal views  from many of the pitches.

 

13-08-16  Nice to enjoy plain non-regulated camping in a wonderful location

 

13-08-16  We really enjoyed our stay at Nant y Big.  The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and came round to advise us all to add extra tent pegs on a particularly windy night.  Our tent was fine and we all had a great time. Amazing views to have our breakfast too!!

 

12-08-16  Stunning views, lots of space and very helpful, friendly staff.  Always plenty of hot water. Great location next to the coastal path.

 

12-08-16  Amazing views and beach

 

12-08-16 This is everything you want for a quiet peaceful and scenic camping trip, breath taking views and excellent facilities

 

12-08-16 It is an amazing place to stay, have been here 2 or 3 times now, and you can’t get better – that’s if the wind is not howling round your guy ropes!!  Amazing beach with great surf, plenty of room around each tent, and although it would be great to have a permanent building for the ablution block, the water was hot and the toilets clean.  Access is not the easiest, with lots of reversing if you meet someone coming the other way, but then, it makes it a quieter place because of the access.  Will definitely be back again soon!

 

12-08-16 “This was my family’s 2nd camping trip & my sisters family’s first. We all had an absolutely brilliant time & are now hooked. This site was perfect for us. We stayed on the family field. The set was lots of room for the two children aged 11 & 3 to run and play safely & without annoying other families. There felt a real sense of community on this site. We particularly appreciated Dillon’s help during the very windy weather we experienced. The ladies toilets /showers were spotless. The friendly cleaner always seemed to be there! The nearby beach is beautiful. Probably difficult to access if you had very young children as the hill is very steep. Our trick was to load up the car with children & equipment and drive down to the car park near the beach. Worth the £3 cost! Any other site we visit will always be compared to this one. We will definitely return!”

 

12-08-16 We loved the views and get away from it all feel of the site. The facilities are absolutely fine- all clean. We stayed in the valley in an amazing spot overlooking the beach. It was very windy one night but that’s just down to the weather. This is a great site if you have older kids who love body boarding!! Fantastic waves on a spotless sandy beach. The owner was v helpful. No problem to have 2 passes for the barrier. The barrier meant it felt even safer. 10 mins drive to Abersoch. We even got a taxi back one night for a tenner. Booking over phone with Katie was a breeze.

 

11-08-16 Stunning location, good functional campsite.  Would definitely go again if in the area.  Highlight is the access to a gorgeous quiet beach that’s dog friendly.

 

11/08/16 Appreciated the low density camping. Very helpful and considerate staff . Fantastic spot with great views, beach access and wonderful walks along coastal path . This was my fourth visit and although it was the 1st time visited in high season it was a pleasant surprise not find there was no overcrowding. Definitely recommend.

 

11/08/16 Stunning location, good functional campsite.  Would definitely go again if in the area.  Highlight is the access to a gorgeous quiet beach that’s dog friendly.

 

10/08/16 We had a great time and the views are amazing. Beach within 5 minutes walk, perfect for a family break. Site is neat and clean. nice people.

 

10/08/16 There is nothing to dislike about this place, stunning location with a fabulous ,clean beach. Facilities basic but cleaned regularly which is all you need when camping. Family field is really spacious for the kids to play. This campsite has a lovely, relaxed vibe with really friendly staff too, both myself and the little ones are looking forward to returning in the near future!

 

10/08/16 This was my third stay at Nant-y-Big. I was warmly greeted by the staff who treated me as an old friend. They have great memories!  The staff were helpful and aimed to help everyone there enjoy their stay and avoid damage when we had gale force winds. The toilet and washing facilities were kept spotlessly clean. The site has beautiful sea views .The lane up to the site is single track so great care is needed if towing. I enjoyed my stay and hope to return next year.

 

09/08/16 beautiful spot

 

08/08/16 Very satisfied with the camp site, friendliness of staff, and cleanliness of facilities.

 

08/08/16 A beautiful setting, perfect for walks and trips to the beaches. If you are looking for a holiday fun park (organised entertainment) it may not be for you but we couldn’t fault it. Shower and toilet facilities were clean but not substantial, the staff were lovely and more than helpful, we would definitely return.

 

07/08/16 We really enjoyed our stay.  The kids said it was their best ever camping holiday, despite normally preferring places with more entertainment facilities.  I loved the peace and quiet and beautiful scenery.

 

05/08/16 The views are spectacular, we were on the Panoramic field and it is just that. Sea views from the door of your tent. The campsite was clean and quiet. There were lots of dogs but they were all well behaved and not a single bit of dog mess on the campsite or the beach which was great. The wash facilities could be improved by having more permanent facilities built. There were only 3 toilets in the ladies and 2 small sinks. The showers were small when you go in with kids and have to help them wash. There was also only two sinks for washing up and there were often queues. Having said that, I would definitely return for how beautiful the location is, it is truly breathtaking…even in the rain!

 

04/08/16 Whilst I was at the park I did feel that the wash facilities and dish wash facilities were not kept as clean as they could be which was a huge disappointment. There also wasn’t enough facilities for how many people were there and we often had to que. Staff were very friendly when we arrived and the beach is fabulous, kids thoroughly enjoyed it but the facilities especially the cleanliness aspect would put me off going again.

 

03/08/16 We absolutely loved staying here. Fantastic position, close to a beautiful quiet beach, friendly staff, loads of space, away from the Abersoch crowds but close enough if you need it. We couldn’t fault it and will be back BUT for this many tents and caravans the shower facilities are a) far from adequate in quantity and b) a little bit grubby at times. We are keen to go on the top fields but a consideration has to be how FAR it is to the showers and toilets and the Queue when you get there. Another portakabin shower block would work wonders!

 

02/08/16 Nant-y-big is set in a lovely location with beautiful vistas & a nearby sandy beach. Facilities are basic but adequate & staff are very helpful & friendly. Abersoch is a short bike ride away.

 

01/08/16 Great placed campsite with stunning views. Facilities spotlessly clean whenever used. Noise limits ensure a good nights sleep. Dog Friendly too! Great secluded Beach accessible via a steep path. Ask the staff for advice on where to pitch for the prevailing weather!

 

31/07/16 One of my favourite campsites

 

30/07/16 Love this place can’t wait to return

 

29/07/16 Excellent place to camp amazing views!

 

28/07/16 Beautiful campsite right by the sea, very well kept with good facilities. The staff were very friendly and couldn’t do enough to help. Will definitely be returning :)

 

28/07/16 Beautiful location just off the coast and mins away from beach. 5 mins away from Abersoch by car or walk in about an hour.

 

28/07/16 Absolutely loved stay at Nant y Big, the views are incredible, staff really helpful and facilities are very clean for a campsite! Can’t wait to revisit! It would help if a porter Loo was placed near the Panoramic field as it’s quite a walk to the toilets!

 

28/07/16 Good time had by all.

 

28/07/16 Great location, a short walk to the beach, with friendly staff and well maintained site.  Toilet/shower facilities well maintained. Will come back!

 

28/07/16 A beautiful campsite with a wonderful beach only 10 minutes walk away.  Great showers and toilet facilities. It is the quietest campsite I have ever been on. Strictly no noise after 11pm, So if you want to be in bed by 11pm this is the place for you.  I found the ‘no more than 5 adults in a group allowed’ a bit strange.

 

27/06/16 Lovely site with basic clean facilities. Set in a lovely area. Can’t wait for my next stay here

 

24/07/16 The campsite is in a very nice setting with great views. Your view depends on which field you stay in. Electrical hookup means you must be in the family field. Better views from the other fields. A great beach nearby, 15 mins walk. Facilities are very clean.

 

24/07/16 Great site. Panoramic field has amazing views, can be windy but staff are very helpful & advise if strong winds are expected. There is a lovely beach at the bottom of the site, the town is about 3 miles & the coast route is a lovely walk. The site is very clean with good amenities & the staff are very friendly & helpful. I would recommend this site

 

22/07/16 lovely peaceful site with basic but adequate clean facilities. location stunning even though the weather not good!Staff helpful and friendly.

 

15/07/16 Really I shouldn’t advise you to come and enjoy this beautiful out of the way camp site….because if too many people find it ….you will all want to come back…It’s location on the cliffs overlooking a kilometre of secluded sandy beach, is the best! Easy access to the beach, plus lots of interesting wildlife – like glow worms, peregrines, and chuffs… Add to its diverse interest…Staff are most hospitable kind and considerate…they welcome people who respect others…and who are as friendly as they are…showers are great…lots of choice of where to pitch a tent….if you want stunning views when you wake up – this is the place! I’d give this camp site 10/10 likewise the  staff….

 

15/07/16 Lovely one night stay despite overnight rain. Beach is fantastic especially for bodyboarding if the tide is right, we had so much fun. Showers were lovely so was the toilet block. We came when it was quiet so we enjoyed it even more. The view is stunning on Panoramic, just make sure the tent is securely pegged if the wind is due to pick up. Site manager was more than helpful to us and his presence reassured us that we had chosen a safe site in which to camp. Will be back again in the off-season , thank you.

 

14/07/16 Had a lovely stay at Nant y Big, staff so helpful and friendly, felt very secure there too.  Will definitely be returning

 

13/07/16 We were warned about difficulty to find but sat nav got us close enough to signs. Lane very narrow – no problem to us. Staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. Two tents on lower “valley” site – fantastic view out to sea when we arrived and surfers were enjoying the waves. Toilets were limited but exceptionally clean. Weather deteriorated for second day – valley reasonably protected but make sure you peg tent down well. North Wales Coastal path very close but steep cliff climbs to follow. Very special place.

 

13/07/16 This campsite has the most stunning  location being right on a natural and beautiful beach. You feel very much at one with nature here and we saw dolphins on the local beach around 100metres from the shore, stunning site to see. Lovely cliff top walk to Abersoch around two hours walk and again we saw the dolphins. You can literally walk in any direction for miles on good paths, our two dogs loved it. Site was windy but the warden was very helpful and ensured we were notified of further predicted high winds and safe.Access to site a little difficult if you encounter another vehicle however the helpful warden assisted with this as we left and stopped incoming vehicles so we could leave  with our trailer. Would love to return again.

 

07/07/16 I have been going to nant y big for over 10 years and always have a good time whatever the weather. I like the fact that the family field allows us caravanners to go with our tent friends and I love the area and the beach. The washing facilities are always clean and there is plenty of hot water with a proper tap, no push buttons which switch off after 30 seconds! It’s not plush but it’s perfectly fine. My only reservation about the site is the access lane which I am used to but it’s never easy. It’s pretty narrow with few passing places although the owners will keep it clear if you ring them first. Once up and camped it’s all forgotten until you need to negotiate it again. I don’t think there is a lot the owners can do about the actual road but as I say they will keep it clear if you ask them to before you start up the lane. Other than that the site is highly recommended and its access to a lovely beach cannot be beaten! Dolphins and seals have been spotted there for the last couple of trips- always exciting to see…

 

07/07/16 What a great find! Beautiful location, friendly owner, clean facilities! We really enjoyed our stay – thank you Dylan

 

06/07/16 A fantastic site with good clean facilities. Amazing views and easy access to a beautiful beach and coastal walks. Staff very friendly and more than happy to help. Offer of local OS maps to borrow is a great touch.

 

04/07/16 Had a lovely stay at Nant-y-big, even tho had to leave early as my tent started leaking water, that staff are so helpful the views are amazing lots of walking to do 😊😊

 

03/07/16 This place is a find that I’m reluctant to share, hence the “possibly”, I wouldn’t tell anyone other than my favourite people about this hidden gem! The staff were lovely, very flexible and helpful despite our late arrival and the site is spectacular. Shower and toilets spotless, washing up a little more basic but nice and clean.

 

02/07/16 Loved the peace and quiet, the views and just being able to get away from everyday life. will be back some time later on in the season

 

28/06/16 Enjoyed my stay at Nanty. It was first time camping. So was a bit anxious being by myself, but felt ok on the camp site. Weather and views amazing. With a nice walk along costal path to Abersoch

 

15/06/16 A lovely campsite, very friendly staff, great location, fantastic beach just a 10 minute walk away. Highly recommended for families that are looking for a slightly quieter location but close enough to Abersoch for a restaurant or change of scenery

 

14/06/16 Excellent location and value for money. Toilet and showering facilities were very clean and well maintained and the staff were lovely. Will definitely be returning!

 

14/06/16 “We were recommended Nant Y Big by friends as we had mentioned to them we were going to try a camping holiday. The booking form was all straight forward and soon got a call back from Kate to confirm the details and take payment. The directions were very good and on arrival got a very helpful and friendly welcome. We were informed we could camp anywhere as the site was not too busy which was a pleasant surprise. We chose the panoramic field which had great views of the very clean beach, sea and surrounding coastline. The pleasant weather did help and very had a great time on the beach in the day and BBQ in the evening. Facilities were very good and clean which include toilets, showers and washing up sinks. We only stayed one night as it was our first camping holiday. Every one of us really enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to return. Hopefully see you again soon”

 

14/06/16 “This was a great way to spend time with my little boy and friends. The amenities were clean and tidy, however my little boy 5 years old struggled to reach the sink in the toilets. The ladies is lower than the gents but perhaps a step could be provided for the children to wash? Good location friendly staff, and a fantastic panoramic view over the sea. Can’t wait to return in the summer.”

 

14/06/16 “Set in an area of natural beauty, with an abundance of wildlife & plants there is something for everyone staying here. You have access to your own beautiful, private, sandy beach via steps, the Llyn Coastal Path & the village of Abersoch (approx. 2 miles away) etc. Porth Ceiriad is my idea of paradise. Pods of dolphins & seals are often seen in the bay. This style of holiday suits people looking for relaxation away from the hustle & bustle of work & technology who wish to spend precious moments with family & friends enjoying & experiencing the simple things in life. The bay is suitable for swimming, fishing & kayaking whilst the beach is ideal for sunbathing, walking & beach activities. The surrounding mountains are ideal for walks, hiking & bird watching. This is not a holiday for people who enjoy listening to loud music, drinking excessively & causing mayhem. Camping & Caravanning is available as well as statics. All holidays here MUST be booked & confirmed before arrival. There is an on site Information / Administration Office which is manned daily by local staff who are very polite & efficient & who take pride in their work. They are fluent in both Welsh & English & are very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas. Nothing is too much trouble. If in doubt ask! There is also an emergency phone connection for after hours service. All on site facilities are included in your overall holiday payment, there are no hidden extras. These include hot showers, drinking water, soap, toilet rolls & paper towels. All waste is recycled. There is no shop on site. Shop for basics before you arrive. The business is family run & has been owned by the same family for many years. All nationalities are welcome here. People revisit for holidays year after year. I have been coming for 40 years, what more can I say! The views are to die for…………..I look forward to my next holiday here.”

 

14/06/16 “We have just returned from a brilliant holiday in our caravan at Nant-y- Big. We can’t give enough positive praise for this site and the people who run it. They accommodated us at a very busy time, doing their upmost to fit us in. When we arrived we were welcomed and shown to our pitch. The staff who worked there were so friendly, asking how we were and giving advice on where to go. A hello and smile in the morning goes a long way, and the staff couldn’t do enough. It was a very free and easy; relaxed site. The facilities were excellent: showers were hot and clean. The caravan spaces are very wide and the pitches were firm. There were also large spaces for the children to run and play. The location is breath taking , the views were to die for. It has been our favourite holiday.”

 

14/06/16 Great weather, great place and a great part of the world.

 

13/06/16 Great location next to the beach, friendly and helpful staff.

 

10/06/16 “Can’t wait to come back. Great location lots of space simple clean and nothing to distract from the beauty of the place. Lovely friendly staff too!”

 

10/06/16 Fabulous little campsite. great location and very well kept. Will definately return to nant y big. Thanks

 

10/06/16 Stayed two nights and had a fabulous stay. From watching dolphins in the bay each day to the first class toilet and shower facilities which were exceptionally clean and well stocked with paper and soap. Couldn’t wish for a better place to camp, and at a great price too. Thank you.

 

10/06/16 Absolutely beautiful surroundings and a fabulous beach. Great for proper camping, not too commercial, all of nature on the doorstep, yet Abersoch only a short drive / cheap taxi / good stroll away. Highly recommended.

 

10/06/16 “Beautiful views stunning site with plenty of room. The toilets were a bit of a walk but to put them anywhere else would ruin the site. Perfect.”

 

09/06/16 “Absolutely great ! camp site and staff ! even laid on the fantastic weather !!!! be back very soon thank you so much for a great few days”

 

09/06/16 “Location is everything here if you’re after peace and quiet and brilliant views and a great access to the beach and walks. Showers and toilets very clean and plenty of hot water. The campsite is big and never felt crowded.”

 

08/06/16 Loved the campsite, we stayed on the family field with electrical hook up, but would easily stay on any other parts of the campsite, especially the dramatic pitches overlooking the bay. My children loved making new friends, all the space in the middle of the field for games and stating the obvious, the beach, bodyboarding, dolphins, seals, barbeques and a week of glorious weather. Apart from the beach, also enjoyed the coastal walks round to Abersoch and going the other way to hells mouth. Great location for getting out to Abedaron, Abersoch, Llanbedrog and the surrounding Peninsula.

 

08/06/16 A camp site with a splendid location, friendly staff, immaculate facilities and good value for money. Thank you, too, to God for lovely sunshine.

 

08/06/16 “I appreciate that we had beautiful weather for the whole week, but the site was lovely, in a great spot.  everyone was friendly and helpful. Only downside was the internet was not great!  Perhaps that is a blessing on your holidays!”

 

08/06/16 “The staff were absolutely fantastic, friendly and very helpful.   I chose the site due to location to the beach and panoramic views. For a better experience for the kids, would be good to have a children’s play area and for the teenagers (I’m afraid to say) a better wifi connection.  Happy children, happy parents. Had a great holiday, in a great location, great staff  – would definitely recommend and re-visit.”

 

08/06/16 A stunning campsite near a stunning beach. Staff very nice. Highly recommended

 

08/06/16 I stayed on the top field over looking the ocean. Fabulous

 

08/06/16 This was an amazing location overlooking the coast. Lots of choices of where to camp and just a short walk to a beautiful beach. The weather was amazing for us so we didn’t get chance to take the coast walk, we were too drawn to the beach… but we will definitely be back again. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We loved our stay!

 

08/06/16 “What a beautiful location – we stayed in the ‘panoramic fields.  Loads of space for the children to play but no play area as such.  The beach close to the site is absolutely stunning and always seems to be relatively quiet. Staff on the site are really friendly and helpful. We loved our stay and will definitely be back at some point!! Some type of ‘portaloo’ closer to the top fields would certainly make things easier in the night, for ladies in particular.”

 

08/06/16 Would go back to nant y big again just needs more facilities and the road in and out is not very good but over all clean and tidy, could do with the road up to the top fields tarmacing

 

07/06/16 We returned for our second visit to Nant-y-Big and were rewarded again with friendly owners, amazing views and access to a fab beach and coastal walks. A beautiful, tranquil location with the added bonus of being just down the road from Abersoch where you can enjoy fish and chips and an ice cream! Will definitely be back.

 

07/06/16 Amazing location.  Clean and tidy. Welcoming, an adventure to be had around every corner.

 

07/06/16 We discovered Nant-y-big by pure accident and we were thrilled we did! Perfect location with a beautiful outlook over the bay. The facilities were always clean and not busy even though we went at half term. There seemed to be plenty of space and not overcrowded at all Lovely beach and we will definitely be back! Thank you!

 

06/06/16 We decided to head to the Llyn Peninsula for a few days with the children over May half term. We found Nant-y-Big online and thought it looked perfect. When we arrived we were absolutely astounded by the beauty of the location and the fantastic camping pitches. The welcome we received from the staff was wonderful. The standard of the facilities was great and the only entertainment required was what nature offered us – beautiful views of the skies, mountains, coastline and sea. A wonderful adventure. Thank you.

 

06/06/16 This place is perfect!

 

06/06/16 Love this place

 

05/06/16 Nant y Big was close to perfect. Beautiful views, a short walk to a great beach, spotless facilities, friendly owners. Could do with a pub close by – but you can’t blame the owners for that.

 

03/06/16 Nant y Big was the first time my 5 month old baby had been camping and as with all other occasions we’ve been it serve us well. The staff remember us from a previous visit in a caravan as well as camping last year and the facilities were more than ample for the young ones needs, he even had a shower.  The space enjoyed at the site ensured a stress free holiday as we also had our two terriers with us.

 

03/06/16 One of the best locations you’ll ever get. Blessed with good weather and I couldn’t believe we could see dolphins from our tent, it felt like we were abroad! Not enough showers or toilets but you manage if you time it right.

 

03/06/16 “This place is strictly for those who don’t need playgrounds for kids to enjoy themselves and for those who don’t need a pub or restaurant on site. If you are happy with pure and unadulterated nature and natural beauty with minimal facilities and a go wild attitude you will love it. The toilets and showers are clean and ample and there is a fridge freezer and washing up facilities in site but that is all. Kayaking with dolphins and snorkelling for crab and lazing on the beach or camp site grass is where it is at here and in terms of beauty it delivers 110%”

 

02/06/16 This was my second visit to Nant-y-Big. The campsite location is stunning. We camped on the clifftop field overlooking the bay, and were lucky enough to see seals and dolphins on our first day. Despite it being a bank holiday weekend, the owners did not overbook the campsite meaning the fields were not crowded and there were not huge queues for amenities. Campsite location is excellent, having access to its own (quietish) beach, and away from the hustle and bustle of Abersoch, yet a 5-min drive away if you need any provisions or want to go out in the evening.

 

27/05/2016 Great site, amazing views and beach, friendly helpful staff

 

23/05/2016 “A real find – wanting 4 nights in an away from it all, coastal campsite, Nant Y Big exceeded all expectations and we had a magical time in North Wales. Facilities were clean and tidy, all areas well maintained but remained chilled out and quirky too. The main draw is its proximity to a fabulously unspoilt, clean, safe, quiet beach. In addition the coastal path passes very close by allowing for an easy 90 minute walk into Abersoch. If you want away from it all camping, with great beach access, this is it. Can’t wait to return to Nant Y Big – maybe next time we try one of the elevated sea view camping fields. Would most definitely recommend.”

 

22/05/2016 “Beautiful location. No need for manufactured entertainment – nature has the job well & truly in hand. We love this site because it’s pure camping heaven. Stunning views for non EHU pitches, clean & tidy, friendly, good price and it’s always sunny. Never had a bad holiday there yet. Sad to hear we can’t share the site with friends but we can understand the reason for the new rule of 5.”

 

20/05/2016 “The site was very quiet during our stay so we had the facilities virtually to ourselves, therefore can’t comment on how it would be at peak times. They were clean and the shower was very good with plenty of hot water. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with local knowledge of walks etc. The best thing about Nant y Big is it’s location above a lovely beach with direct access to the coastal path. The camping fields have wonderful views of the bay. There is a steep flight of steps down to the beach giving difficult access for some but there are other beaches nearby just a short drive away. The absolute highlight for us were the frequent sightings of pods of dolphins out in the bay. This area is renouned for them but we hadn’t expected to be so lucky. Sitting on the headland with a pair of binoculars watching several groups of dolphins passing by will be our lasting memory of this holiday.”

 

17/05/2016 Every time we stay here we can’t wait to return,

 

13/05/2016 “Excellent site for a peaceful, relaxing getaway. Toilet and showers lovely and clean. Showers are free. Campsite well maintained.  Great staff, all very helpful.

 

7/5/2016It was really good. Because it was basic – the better! Great views and no distractions. Thanks.

 

6/5/2016I would live on that camp site if I could. Can’t recommend it enough. Stunning location, excellent facilities and very friendly staff.

 

27/04/2016 Brilliant location, friendly team

 

26/04/2016 First visit to Abersoch and the campsite was perfect. Great washing facilties, showers were lovely and warm with huge changing area and space to keep your clothes dry. We stayed in mid April so the site was very quiet which meant we had the whole field to ourselves. There is an excellent bus service which is ideal for walkers. It even picked us up at the campsite for no additional cost. It only cost £1 to drop us on the other coast so we could walk back. The bus journey was stunning as was the walk. The guy who met us provided loads of information on the area which was very helpful.

 

14/04/2016 Nice site but direction leading to site poor almost turned back views great staff helpful toilet / shower block very clean nice gentle walk down to the near-by beach last part steep down zig zag steps but worth it. I would return again but take supplies as no facilities near you have to drive into Abersock

 

12/4/2016What a find!  A beautiful site,  lovely n quiet,  & most importantly with its own beach!!  It is only accessed on foot so we pretty much had to ourselves for 4 days… it is amazing… we will definitely be returning. 😆

 

5/4/2016A very wet Easter bank holiday – spent two out of three nights booked, one night on the panoramic field, but moved for safety and comfort. Staff made the move easy, got us out of the mud. I would have preferred that there wasn’t an obligatory three night booking for Easter as the weather was bad and there were very few at the site. It’s a lovely setting for walks, with great views over the sea and countryside  and I would return to the site in the future in good weather.

 

4/4/2016lack of stand pipes , need to have water next to every hook up- and better or some signage to point out waste chemical point , also gate at top of field one would be handy to re enter campsite.

 

2/4/2016This was the second time of visiting the site, we like the location and the quietness as there never seems to be many children, this could be as there are no on-site activities or entertainment. The toilet blocks, showers and washing facilities were always very clean. Will return to this site in the future.

 

1/4/2016Superb scenic Location.  Unfortunately due to the storm the site was exposed to high winds.  Genuinely great place & would recommend the views to anyone.

 

19/10/2015 We have been coming to Nant-y-big for 5 years, with direct family or with friends. We love it. The beach is on the campsite doorstep, what more do you need or want. Staff always helpful and friendly. There aren’t any children’s ‘facilities’ or activities on the campsite, but what do you want when the beach is that close. We have been in spring and summer, rain and sunshine and we will hopefully come back again every year! It has always been a peaceful and quiet campsite which we love. The staff/owners have always been very flexible if we wanted to stay an extra night or when we had to leave a day early. A big thumbs up from us.

 

18/09/2015Narrow road to site pleasant walk to dog friendly beach quite and peaceful site helpful staff

 

17/09/2015 Beautiful place ,lovely owners ,very clean , enjoyed our time there so much booked extra nights and will definitely be going back next year 😊

 

15/09/2015 Fantastic campsite in a beautiful setting right next to a fantastic beach. Staff very friendly and helpful.

 

10/09/2015 Beautiful area, we stayed in the panoramic field. Truly stunning views. If its a bit windy you may want to stay in the valley. Easy going site; no regimented pitches. Good access to the beach.

 

10/09/2015 We try to stay at this camp site at least once each year. Great location and the views from the panoramic camping field are amazing! Really friendly owners who run a great site – never known any problems, noise, etc. Will definitely be going back again next year!

 

08/09/2015 We had a thoroughly wonderful stay at Nant-y-Big. The panoramic fields are stunning ! What a wonderful view to wake up to, our 6, 4 & 3 year old daughters were elated ! Lots of space, not cramped pitches. The luxury portaloos were great. The luxury portashowers were very warm & clean. Lovely thought to provide a freezer for ice packs for the non electric pitches. Very friendly staff. The cleaner was very friendly & helpful when we arrived after office hours and got us in touch with the staff on call that night. Relaxed, relaxing, friendly, fabulous ! Will definitely stay again & have already recommended to family & friends. Well done !

 

08/09/2015 Extremely helpful and friendly staff but let down regarding basic provisions ie shop selling bread, milk etc.

 

08/09/2015 The camp site location is wonderful and the staff always make you welcome. I like that it is quiet and well managed and the facilities are clean and accessible

 

05/09/2015 “Love this place, it’s absolutely stunning, wouldn’t change anything! Thank you “

 

04/09/2015 “Location is what this site is all about. Close to one of the best (unknown) beaches in wales it ticks all the boxes for real outdoors camping. Wide open pitches, with spaces for children to play and if you decide to go non-electric you’ll have some of the best views as you sit in your tent. There are no thrills or spills, just wonderful scenery and a closeness to nature. The facilities are very clean and cared for. There is also a sense of real pride from the owners and staff. Highly recommend for families with children of all ages as there is plenty of space to play, kick about a football, fly a kite or for the older ones to explore the beach”

 

04/09/2015 We arrived very late on Friday evening and due to high winds couldn’t erect our tent. The campsite manager was very helpful, ringing numerous hotels to try and arrange alternative accommodation for us and where to buy materials to fix our broken tent. The location is beautiful, although the panoramic fields can be exposed when it is windy.

 

04/09/2015 Always a fabulous and friendly welcome at Nant-Y-Big. We will keep returning

 

03/09/2015 Nice site .access to the site very narrow

 

01/09/2015 It’s by far the best site in the area, for scenery, beach access, the location is a perfect base, close enough to access the busier  resorts when necessary, while, nicely away from the maddening crowd!

 

01/09/2015 Very happy with experience…v windy though!!

 

28/08/2015 “We enjoyed ourselves even in bad weather! An ideal site if you want plenty of space, peace and tranquillity. The low numbers of campers and peacefulness of the site is a welcome relief to the crowds on many other sites. ( And it’s a world away from abersoch which is like a Welsh magaluf at the height of season.) We loved the low key atmosphere, very friendly staff and owner, beautifully clean facilities, and the spacious field overlooking the lovely beach which you can walk to so easily.  It was perfect for us and our dog. We usually eat out when we camp, but next time we come to this site we will bring our BBQ and food because nothing could be better than sitting out on the cliff top field watching the sunset over the bay with a few glasses of wine… Bliss.”

 

27/08/2015 Improved shower and washing facilities would help.

 

25/08/2015 This is a great location for a holiday with stunning views over the beautiful coastline.  It is situated close to the Welsh Coastal path and is a good place to relax, to watch the sun setting and the night sky and to observe the dolphins in the sea.  We found the staff very welcoming and knowledgeable about the surrounding area.  Diolch yn fawr iawn!

 

25/08/2015 This was our 2nd year in a row camping at Nant-y-Big for a family summer holiday and we all had a fabulous time. The location is just stunning and perfect for our active family from body boarding to coastal walks right on your door step. The staff were superb, friendly and knowledgeable. In terms of the usual facilities, they were always clean, but on rainy days access to an onsite farm shop or similar would be the only thing that could have made our stay better. See you next year.

 

25/08/2015 John was great, always ready to give tips to enjoy even more Abersoch and its area. His advice about restaurants was very accurate.

 

25/08/2015 “This is a really nice site, we stayed on the beach field and wow is it a good view overlooking the beach. It is quite a long walk up to the toilets or showers but they are clean and the views make up for it. Overall great camping trip :)  “

 

24/08/2015 I have been staying here for 4 years now and will definitely be returning. If the surf is up you won’t find a campsite nearer to the beach than this.

 

24/08/2015 This is the fourth time we have visited Nant Y Big and it’s raw beauty continues to amaze and provide the tranquillity for relaxation. This time we used the beach and sea to its full extent with my nephew on his body board. The site may be simple but its space and cleanliness give us everything we could wish for as two family groups. Yet again loved it!

 

24/08/2015 “First time I have ever been, my family go every year and all in all it was a great experience. The entrance didn’t look right as there was no sign, but we came back for a second go and found the site. The single track is a problem, but I know that is something the residents don’t help with solutions. The site is clean and the facilities are there and work well. No wifi as yet although that was a plus. The beach is lovely, nice and flat although difficult to get to for younger or less able people. I had to make use of the car park on more than one occasion to pick up tired family members, but thankfully I was given a pass. It might be worth offering this to families with young children or older to help with the walk. The only issue for me going back is the distance, it is 5.5 hours from home but we really enjoyed our stay. “

 

24/08/2015 First time visitors but we will be back. Lovely people lovely site lovely facilities I could go on. If you want simple straightforward camping in an awesome location with great facilities then this is the place.

 

24/08/2015 This is a proper camp/caravan site, without all the frills that commercial places have……. and with lights at night in just a few important spots, so the night sky is brilliant, just like wild camping. Then, there are the views, and the walk down to what feels like our own private cove-like beach – like the sort my grandparents took me to when I was young. Roll on next year!

 

22/08/2015 “We were a couple with a 3 year old and an 18 month old. We pitched our tent in the panoramic field and loved our location and view. We wandered down the little path to the stubbing beach. When we felt like tearing ourself away we visited nearby trendy and chic Abersoch and took in the beautiful beaches in the area. This campsite represents to us what a real camping adventure is all about. We loved the fact that they don’t pack in the punters and so everyone has space and privacy which really enhances the experience ”

 

21/08/2015 Nant y big is a beautiful place to camp with friendly staff that helps everyone it has fantastic views a 5 min walk to the beach and has lovely areas to walk been coming for a number of years and will certainly continue to visit one recommendation is that if you are towing a trailer or caravan the lane into nant y big is a bit tight but if you ring down to the staff they will stop all traffic down the lane until you have arrived so ring when you get to the lane thank you Everyone at nant y big for another year of fab holidays x

 

21/08/2015 “Very well run site. Facilities were clean and plenty of hot water. Staff were very polite and friendly. Good beach and views from site were impressive.(stayed on the Panoramic

 

17/08/2015 Been many times love the place

 

17/08/2015 “Hi, I’ve always loved coming to Nanty Big campsite. I think the facilities are excellent and the staff are really friendly and helpful. If there was a suggestion is maybe a small campsite shop but apart from that brilliant.”

 

17/08/2015 The campsite can be found down a narrow lane which in itself makes you feel like you are entering into a secluded haven . This campsite gives the feel of rural camping but with the luxury of clean loos and showers . The beach can be accessed through the campsite and is a beauty . Clear blue sea and sandy shores along with rock pools and caves galore . We even had the pleasure of sharing the sea with some dolphins , an amazing experience. To top things off the night sky was full of stars ,with a clear view of the milky way. We were lucky enough to make a few wishes one night as the sky blessed us with a few shooting stars . Perfect .

 

17/08/2015 Been many times love the place

 

16/08/2015 “Nant y Big is a wonderful site for access to the beach, closeness of Abersoch and wonderful views. We stayed in the Panoramic Field and looked out over the sea whilst sitting at our tent. The owner doesn’t cram people in so there is plenty of space for families to play cricket etc. The staff were extremely helpful and obliging. Although the facilities were reasonably clean, we felt it could be greatly improved with proper facilities for males and females instead of unisex shower portacabins. The female toilets were too small as there were only too sinks close together. I am not sure how families with younger children got on as the sinks were very high. For some campers, the distance to the facilities was a bit far but this didn’t bother us. The beach is lovely and we saw dolphins as we made our way down to it one afternoon. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would definately recommend to those we felt could manage the facilities.

 

16/08/2015 “A beautiful hidden gem. Quiet spacious site with amazing scenery and a private beach. One of the gorgeous beaches I have ever been to. Stunning location . Staff more than helpful with charging phones and directions, cannot recommend it more highly. But sssshhhhh , don’t want too many people discovering it x”

 

14/08/2015 We had a wonderful week camping here. We loved the fact that the site was remote and lacked any commercialism. If people want that then they should go to Butlins and leave this idyllic place just as it is. The practically private beach was a real treat. Thank you!

 

13/08/2015 Great site, fab staff! Stunning location washing up and bathroom facilities are serviceable but everything else is worth a little compromise

 

12/08/2015 We are a group of six plus dog nothing was too much trouble from booking enquiries to the final day and leaving. The site is clean with stunning views, walks and lovely safe beach. We picked our own pitch basically told help yourself makes a change from other sites then we were left alone how we like it but the warden was there for advice or help if needed. So fantastic site for this area go check it out yourselves.

 

11/08/2015 This site has a great location and is not over-developed, it has all the amenities it needs and is our favourite campsite

 

11/08/2015 “One of the main reasons for going to Nant-y-Big has to be the location, with commanding views of the coast, sea and mountains in the distance. Be prepared for strong winds: take extra lines for your tent and you will have a great time even on windy days. This is a fantastic site if you enjoy being away from it all, just relax and enjoy the views. Facilities are basic but more than adequate and are kept very clean. Staff are very helpful and friendly, we will be back one day!”

 

10/08/2015 really enjoyed the holiday, great for kids to go free on there bikes or large area of grass for them to play, no real need for swings etc as they were off playing with other kids on campsite. Location perfect as couple of miles from abersoch village, also the beach which is 5 mins walk is picture perfect, lovely headland walks or mountain bike rides on coastal path. The access to the site is daunting to a new caravan tower if you meet another caravan on the single track but the staff are more than helpful and clear the road on entering or leaving if you let them know . Great friendly staff, toilets cleaned regularly, showers hot. Toilet block looks a bit ugly but so what if it’s clean. Recommend to anyone, definitely be back next year.

 

09/08/2015 “we come each year, great location, very good staff, never packed (which is fundamentally important) bring a good tent – it can get windy”

 

09/08/2015 Nant Y Big is a fantastic campsite. Amazing Views, walks, beaches. Campsite clean, quiet and friendly. We will be back.

 

07/08/2015 i think what would increase your custom would be a little pub within 10min walk of campsite that would be a big plus for many maybe look in to that localy with a future buisness? & pub meals would be great. maybe a farmyard licenced bar could be posible am sure thats a step in the write direction. i think this idea with the allready breath taking views of nant-y-big campsite would make you the winner campsite in the area of abbersoch. i will be back again thats for curtain. many thanks.

 

06/08/2015 We love this site. They are lovely. This was our 3rd stay there in 5years.xx

 

05/08/2015 Second time camping at nant y big and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the site and surrounding area with stunning views across Snowdonia and Cadigan bay. We will return soon.

 

04/08/2015 “needed a sign to find the site down the lane to the site ! GPS no go. Lots of options for camping fields, most with amazing sea views and direct access to brilliant beach and coastal walk could do with a washing machine and better dish wash facilities, will return ! — watch out for the very strong winds on some of the fields, but great for the surfers”

 

03/08/2015 Excellent camp site with terrific views.

 

02/08/2015 Lovely site, shame about the noisy neighbours!

 

01/08/2015       Great clean campsite, well run

 

30/07/2015     This was our second visit to Nant y big and we will be back. Views from the campsite are amazing; Porth Ceiriad beach is great, very clean. Lots of lovely walks in the area. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Very chilled out and relaxing holiday.

 

30/07/2015     Wonderful location, beautiful scenery and very well maintained however felt staff were discriminating as a result of our age despite being two working age couples

 

29/07/2015     “I have been using this site as an escape from the rigours of my busy city life for many years, as are now my children and as are now my grandchildren, this year was as pleasant as it always is”

 

27/07/2015     Lovely park in a beautiful location but very windy on top field, had to leave early due to damaged tent.

 

24/07/2015     This is a lovely camp site with very friendly staff. Thanks to the instructions included with the booking information we found it very easy to find the site. As we were a bit late arriving the staff where not on site but we were dealt with via the intercom system which was very satisfactory. The shower and toilet block were very clean and a joy to use. The showers are free with lashings of hot water. We loved the surrounding area and the ease of access to the beach and the coastal path. The town of Abersoch has some lovely places to eat and we walked there and back along the cliff top. We spend a day in Morfa Nefyn which is well worth a visit and is full of surprises. You really need your exploring head on while you are there.

 

24/07/2015     Loved it, best campsite I’ve stayed on.

 

24/07/2015     Lovely peaceful site in beautiful surroundings. Thankfully no children’s play area to spoil the peace. Beach is wonderful having almost private access. Nant y Big is definitely the place to come to relax and unwind. Have read comments from others about lack of children’s facilities and shop but that is what makes this such a wonderful place. Children have the beach to play on and shops etc are only a short distance away. Love this place and can’t wait to return.

 

23/07/2015     need to encourage a brewery to licence a new pub within 10 min walk of campsite that would be good.

 

23/07/2015     Possibly needs more toilets and showers as the site filled up, but we did not experience any long delays.

 

16/07/2015     Gorgeous location right on the beach which was fab. Loads to do if you’re the outdoors type. Clean and un-commercial, which is great. Friendly staff. Instructions to get there need a bit of work. Great value, would definitely go again as long as it stays relatively undiscovered!

 

15/07/2015     “The Nant Y Big park was superb for several reason: the view and location, proximity and ease of access to one of the most amazing beaches I have been on in the British Isles and the perfectly mowed lawns that were once fields where we pitched our caravan and tent. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the facilities were clean and tidy. We all loved the distance from the toilet and washing facilities as it made our spot feel all the more remote and spacious. We were lucky on our week in early July as there was not one other camper in our field which overlooked Snowdonia, Cardigan bay and the beautiful beach below. We were able to play cricket in our field and spread out to feel the space and freedom of the best camp site we have ever been to. Our conclusion, from all of us (2 Adults, 3 Teenagers and a 10 Year old Hyper kid!) is that we LOVED Nant-y-Big, its staff and the whole location, panorama and freedom of it all. Fantastic, well done! David and Family.

 

13/07/2015    Great distance from the beach, well kept pitches, clean and easily accessible facilities and very friendly helpful staff – well worth a visit!

 

09/07/2015      Fantastic location for walking straight from the campsite

 

09/07/2015      I come here every year around the same time. The gentlemen that work here are so friendly and informative. The campsite is perched over looking one of the best

beaches. We’ll be back again next year!

 

09/07/2015       “Loved the site, location was fantastic but was a bit windy when we visited. Staff are very helpful and the washroom and toilets were spotless.”

 

08/07/2015       “Lovely friendly place, could do with more electric hook ups, but some people may disagree ?? Will go back as soon as I can !”

 

27/06/2015     Excellent location, staff and facilities, will definitely return

 

23/06/2015     Very good campsite, very friendly and helpful staff, very nice surroundings, the only thing I would wish is a sign from the main road and a slightly upgraded access road!

 

19/06/2015     “This is a campsite I have visited on many occasions and I always enjoy it whatever the weather! I have a caravan and the access to the site is on a single track road so if you meet a caravan coming the other way there could be problems- having said that if you ring ahead when you get to the bottom of the road, they will ensure no caravans come down until you come up and vice versa! Having friends in cars to clear the road is a good alternative. Having said all of that I have never actually met a caravan coming the other way. The site is always immaculate and its proximity to a clean beach and the coastal path makes it a winner. The staff are always very friendly, chatty and helpful. I have had no complaint about this site which I must have visited at least 10 times over the last 10 or 12 years initially in a tent and now in a caravan.”

 

18/06/2015     “A fantastic place to stay, beautiful surroundings and very approachable staff. Better signs from the main road to the site entrance would be appreciated as it’s very well tucked away, other than that it’s amazing :)”

 

12/6/2015     “We have stayed on the campsite before and the location is excellent. The facilities have recently been updated and are very good. Nearby Abersoch is good for meals and drinks, the one big thing for us is that there are no entertainment or social club etc it is what it should be a good quality campsite which is near a beautiful beach and is unspoilt by too many kids. Do not change this and keep making people book in. We take our dog and keep her on the lead clearing up any mess after we leave other dog owners in the main are just as considerate however their are a few that don’t control their dogs which is a shame. I love this campsite and will keep going back.”

 

04/06/2015     “Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Simple, clean, quiet site, perfect for families who want to be able to sleep at night and don’t want clubhouses etc. nearby beach is superb. Could imagine there’s a queue for showers and washing up facilities in peak season but fine when we were there at end of Whitweek. Will definitely return and have already recommended it to several friends. Only improvement I would suggest is a small sign at the end of the track onto the main road because if you don’t print off the access instructions you’re snookered cos there’s no mobile signal to ring for directions! Also being able to purchase fresh milk daily at the site would be ideal, especially for those with no electricity who need to buy daily. Otherwise it was just perfect and we’ll be back!”

 

04/06/2015       This was our second trip to Nant y Big It is an amazing place absolutely beautiful surroundings, the owners are fantastic and we will return many times can’t wait to go back. Xx

 

03/06/2015       We had a lovely stay for 4 nights at Nant y Big. Beautiful location, right on the coastal path and luckily for us the weather held up and we didn’t get blown off that cliff… The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the relatively basic facilities were quite clean and adequate for us.

 

02/06/2015       We had a fabulous time at this campsite ~ the position is beautiful with extensive, un-interrupted views of sea and mountains from the choice of panoramic fields, a lovely dog friendly beach is within walking distance either down relatively steep hillside or easier and slightly longer walk around the coastal path. The facilities were spotless and cleaned regularly. The staff were friendly and eager for you to have a pleasant holiday. The area is lovely, the walk along the coastal path to Abersoch was lovely, (approx 1.5 hours). We saw dolphins and seals in the bay while we were there. We will definitely be returning to Nant-y-big.

 

02/06/2015       “Fantastic few days at Nant y big, staff more than helpful and beautiful location. Tent pitches very good & toilets very clean. Really hope to get back soon.”

 

01/06/2015       Excellent stay at this gorgeous site with my husband and 2 young boys. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. Fantastic coastal walk into Abersoch on a very hot day. Staff were exceptionally helpful, we’ll definitely be back this year!!!

 

01/06/2015       Just had 4 nights here in the family field, what a delight i must say, sea view as well, but was on a slope in the far right corner, but we dealt with no problem ,friendly staff as well ,so thanks nant y big }} , we will be back !!!

 

31/05/2015      Brill will be back

 

31/05/2015     “We have stayed at the site a couple of times now and have loved it each time. On our last visit it was good to see the toilet facilities had been updated by the panoramic field. The one area I could suggest for improvement is maybe having a children’s play area where they can play football (maybe a couple of goal posts) and maybe have some swings/climbing frame.”

 

30/05/2015     Absolutely blown away with this site. Definitely coming back and will bring more if our family and friends. A real gem. Stunning.

 

30/05/2015     It would be even better if reception could sell things like milk ,ice creams, cold drinks. Just a small selection. Another campsite Nantcol did this in a very similar situation and it worked well. They had local ice cream in cones and basic convenience things like milk, bread and cold drinks. You have a fantastic site, very unspoilt and that is it’s charm.

 

30/05/2015     Overall a great campsite. Only downsides – few occasions no hot water for washing up but on positive plenty in showers. Great access to beach and lovely helpful friendly staff.

 

30/05/2015     Awesome site. Obviously the proximity of the beach is the biggest attraction. We had a great time and our two young girls really enjoyed themselves. When we go again we will take more toys and games for the girls to play. But over all it’s a great place to camp and we will return soon.

 

29/05/2015     A lovely, clean campsite in a beautiful location which was a short walk from a stunning beach.

 

29/05/2015     Probably the best site I have stayed at. Definitely return with my daughter.

 

29/05/2015     “We visited in May and had Fantastic views onto the bay and even saw dolphins and seals on our visit. The staff and owner were very friendly and give you an option to which field you camp in. Wash & toilet facilities were always clean and well stocked. No facilities such as parks or shops but that suited us perfectly. About a 5 minute drive into Abersoch. We will definitely be returning again. “

 

29/05/2015     Stunning location, great staff, basic clean facilities but adequate on a reasonable weather weekend for tent campers, wash rooms may struggle in bad / cold weather. Will definitely return this year.

 

28/05/2015     Stunning location, with fabulous beach on the doorstep. We will be back!

 

25/04/2015     Another fantastic stay big thanks to owner and warden see you soon Gary and family

 

24/04/2015     This was our second time at the campsite and thoroughly enjoyed it again. We don’t usually return to somewhere we have already been as there is always somewhere new to explore, but made the exception as this is a great campsite within a beautiful area. Lots of coastal walking and access to a beautiful beach. Staff on the site are incredibly friendly and not intrusive on your stay. Would definitely return in the future.

 

21/04/2015     “The perfect weekend weather in the perfect place. Great stay with happy and friendly staff. I will be back 2 – 3 more times this year”

 

16/04/2015     We loved staying at Nant-y-Big, the campsite is lovely and the beach is truly stunning. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the site is nice and quiet- perfect for a family with young children like ours!! We will most definitely be returning.

 

10/04/2015     Very friendly and welcoming staff; great location and flexibility as we had 2 vehicles + one trailer ; no silly restrictions about the size of the tent either; granted that we were the 1st to arrive on the field, on arrival we were simply told to choose our preferred spot unlike some rigid / strict sites where all is regimented; nice hot and free showers and clean facilities; the nearby beach is superb; lovely experience !

 
 
 

The above reviews are un-edited (names have been removed). If you wish a future review of yours to appear in any updates, tick “yes” where it states “review can be published by third parties” on our feedback form.